Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 27, 2004, 11:23 AM   #1
Trainlogan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Airport Express

Im trying to hook up an xbox to an airport express. I want to use the port on the back of the airport express to connect to the xbox. Ive searched through apples support site and it says the station works in client mode. I have the station setup in client mode but i still can't get the xbox to pull an ip address from the server. The network is setup with a netgear wireless router and then the Airport Express connecting to that network. Any ideas?
Trainlogan is offline   0
Old Aug 27, 2004, 11:32 AM   #2
emw
macrumors 603
 
emw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
This thread has a discussion on how to do this.

Essentially, you need a crossover cable and you should be good to go.
emw is offline   0
Old Aug 27, 2004, 01:41 PM   #3
Trainlogan
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Why a cross over cable, should it work like a switch?
Trainlogan is offline   0
Old Aug 27, 2004, 01:51 PM   #4
technocoy
macrumors 6502a
 
technocoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
if i'm not mistaken...

as i am planning on doing this as well, it only works when your base station is an apple airport or airport extreme.
__________________
4GB 1G nano, 16GB iPhone
2.4 17" MBP
2.66 MacPro, 3TB, 5Gigs of RAM, 8800GT
2.9 Quad FakePro, 2TB, 8Gigs, 2 9800s, BR/HD DVD
technocoy is offline   0
Old Aug 27, 2004, 02:22 PM   #5
emw
macrumors 603
 
emw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by technocoy
as i am planning on doing this as well, it only works when your base station is an apple airport or airport extreme.
The thread above discusses both of these issues in some detail, although apparently some confusion as to if you needed the crossover cable or not - may work both ways.

It worked with a Linksys router at least, other threads have talked about other routers. Try doing a search to see if there is anything on Airport Express and Netgear.

Good luck!

emw is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Performance issues when extending airport extreme network with airport express Birkovic Mac Peripherals 15 Jul 18, 2014 09:40 AM
Bridge Mode for Airport Extreme & Airport Express? ssavanna OS X Mavericks (10.9) 7 Apr 1, 2014 10:22 AM
Streaming live Audio from Airport Extreme to an Airport Express (not iTunes/Airplay) marku5 Mac Peripherals 10 Sep 4, 2013 08:53 AM
Wireless Setup Question: Airport Express or New Airport Extreme? Mac21ND Mac Peripherals 7 Aug 2, 2013 12:11 PM
Old Airport Express vs. 2012 Airport Express jazz1 Mac Peripherals 2 Jul 3, 2012 08:49 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC