Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

RawBert

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Jan 19, 2010
North Hollywood, CA
I got my first Mac in 03 and have loved every second of it. I love Apple's products. Steve Jobs is on my short list of people I consider truly great. I consider myself a huge fan of Apple and I am proud to be a part of the "Apple Culture." Though I'm still relatively new to this whole scene.

About a year ago I started reading comments in the News and Article Discussion Forum of MacRumors. I love it. I read for hours all the comments and criticisms. All these different points of view from people all over the world. It still is such a pleasure to read. I spend most of my time on the net here, for that reason.

The thing that I just wasn't expecting is the fairly large amount of Apple hatred. (So naive, I know). Sure, I expected some, but it seemed excessive to me. After all, this is a Mac fan site. Anyway, when I joined MR and started joining in the conversations and discussions, I pretty much knew what to expect. Still, I didn't fully realize what the connotation "fan boy" meant. To blindly defend Apple. To dismiss the notion that Apple can do a wrong. Well, it undoubtedly goes both ways. Not all, but a lot of that anti-Apple or anti-Microsoft attitude that we see around here is fanboyism. I too admittedly am biased in favor of Apple. Still, I wouldn't call myself a fan boy (any more). I love these forums. I've learned many things here. Not just about tech, but about perspectives. I'm a wiser man for it. And now, instead of being bothered by anti-Apple statements or blindly agreeing pro-Apple fanboyism, I observe it and even learn a thing or two from it.

So, would you consider yourself an Apple "fan boy or fangirl?" Did you at one point?

Below is a good article on the subject that I pretty much agree with. It's pro-Apple, of course, since it's from TUAW.