Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tcphoto

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Feb 23, 2005
Madison, GA
I realize that anti glare may not be for everyone but some of us prefer it. I was happy to see the post on Apple Insider that Apple may be offering an option on all MBP models. For some of us, the glossy display simply does not work in our workflow and we would simply like to make our own choice.

I am a photographer and I work on locations ranging from open sunlight to cave like conditions. Those display hoods do not always block enough light or kill the reflections of objects. I certainly look forward to hearing that Apple understands what their customers need, not just what Apple wants to sell. Not all of us are buying their products for play but to make a living and deliver a project.

MacRumors

macrumors bot
Apr 12, 2001
Apple to Bring Back Matte Displays as an Option on More Macs?

AppleInsider reports that Apple is considering bringing back matte antiglare displays in the form of an option on more of the company's Mac offerings. Currently available only as a $50 option on the 17" MacBook Pro, the report speculates that the 13" and 15" MacBook Pros are the most likely candidates for future inclusion of the option.
The transition towards glossy displays appears to have been sparked by the original iPhone, whose glass touchscreen and black border resonated well with customers. The reception was favorable enough that Apple, in a bid to push the envelope and standardize materials across its product families, gave similar treatment to its iMac line a few months later.