Do you need to have Fusion installed in order to use the upgrade to Parallels 8 ?

Discussion in 'Mac Applications and Mac App Store' started by axi0m, Dec 1, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    #1
    I lost my fusion cd but have my fusion serial and after entering it on the parallels site it qualifies me for the reduced price. Though it does say "Upgrade to Parallels 8". Would I still need to have Fusion actually installed on the machine in order to install this download ?
     
  2. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    #2
    Anyone, surely their have been plenty of people here who have used the upgrade from Fusion discount option ?
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    vastoholic

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    #3
    I guess I'm more confused as to why you're mentioning Fusion and Parallel's like they are the same product. VMWare Fusion is on 5.0 something right now and I only know that because it's what I use. I'm not sure what your talking about with Parallel 8 in regards to Fusion.

    And to try and actually answer the question, if you're downloading an update only, then yes you would probably need the original program installed. If you're able to download the entire new program then you shouldn't need it installed.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    #4
    Epic face palm! Google: Parallels Fusion upgrade.
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    vastoholic

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    #5
    Well **** me, I didn't know they were running the special. I kept wondering why you were always switching names. Well I'm a tard for the evening.
     
  6. Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    OP, perhaps you should have mentioned that parallels is offering a competitive upgrade. In any event you only need the serial number. People can buy VMware Fusion without a disk now, so there will not be any mechanism within parallels to valdate against a disk. It will look for vmware on your drive, if its install you're good to go
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    #7
    Ok, so it will check if vmware fusion is installed, even after parallels accepted the serial and let me download the upgrade. I wasn't asking if it would check against physical media but was inquiring if it would check if I have fusion installed in applications.
     
  8. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #8
    Is this based on first hand experience? I'm just asking because I recently purchased the Fusion competitive upgrade. The Parallels serial was verified at purchase but the Fusion installer never checked for an existing Parallels install.

    http://guides.macrumors.com/Help:Forum_Rules
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    #9
    Hmm, ok. So when using the Parallels to Fusion upgrade offer that vmware provides Fusion upgrade does not check if parallels is installed. I would think parallels would also not a give a stuff if Fusion was installed once the serial has been verified but someone with first hand experience would definitely put those doubts to rest.

    As per the bump rules I didn't know. That being said I believe one bump should be allowed per post should the user feel the urgency to do so. For instance it's almost a certainty that this thread would have had no replies now if it were not bumped and made it to page 2.
     

Share This Page