editing iTunes "headers"

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by Mr_Brightside_@, Jan 21, 2007.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    below Ash Tree Lane
    #1
    Hi, I've used this file to help me change the Names of "Library" "Store" "Devices" and "Playlists" in iTunes, but what I want to do is change them to blank. That worked, but now there is just dead space where those titles used to be. Does anyone know how to get rid of the spaces themselves? cheers - I attached an example.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors 68000

    dllavaneras

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    Caracas, Venezuela
    #2
    Just out of curiosity, why would you like them to not be there?
     
  3. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #3
    It's basically impossible unless:

    1) Apple have a hidden configuration option to turn them off

    2) You can get access to the iTunes code at runtime and work out if there is a single method being called that you can override to stop the drawing.

    I'm not sure that 2) is even possible in Carbon!
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #4
    He probably wants a 'cleaner' look with no menu headers - but I think without them things will look cluttered and unorganised.
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    dllavaneras

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    Caracas, Venezuela
    #5
    But if you make them dissappear, how will you access your library and the other ones the OP wants gone?
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    Kardashian

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Location:
    Britain.
    #6
    I believe he wants to keep whats listed under the headers, such as Music, Music Videos, TV Shows, Radio etc - just not the headers that seperates them.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    dllavaneras

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    Caracas, Venezuela
    #7
    I see it now :) It would clean up the interface a bit, but the current one works for me. To the OP: let us know if you find a way to do that!
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    below Ash Tree Lane
    #8
    I think you're right, I can't do it: I wanted to fit more into that space, the new look let me fit less playlists into the sidebar b/c of the big headers, pretty much the only way I listen to music is with playlists and I didn't like this change from ver.6 which was different. (The 12" screen doesn't help... ;) )
    I'm not one to repeat myself, but if it ain't broken, don't fix it..
     
  9. macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    With regards to video it was broken though, that's why they changed it...
     

Share This Page