Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ez3kiel

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 10, 2024
Dear Mac experts.
Due to a perfectly planned company policies, I am forced to use a macbook. I have used ubuntu, and fedora for 10 years, modified the user interface as suited to my needs, I have never seen this kind of a desktop environment, it feels like all shortcuts deliberately put to some places to decrase the effiiciency. Even a minimised screen cant come up with control tab sh*t. I am also aware this is related to muscle memory.
This is my first time interacting with a macbook, I would be greatful if you can share a link / document / video to adjust this freak to suit my needs.

Bests!

Reactions: Andrey84

throAU

macrumors G3
Feb 13, 2012
Perth, Western Australia
Minimise things less and rely on trackpad gestures to swipe left and right across virtual desktops.

Use 3 finger up swipe to switch between apps on a given desktop.

Worry less about customizing (though you can comprehensively customize and create your own keyboard shortcuts that work across the OS, not just within an app).

Last edited:

ez3kiel

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 10, 2024
Minimise things less and rely on trackpad gestures to swipe left and right across virtual desktops.

Use 3 finger up swipe to switch between apps on a given desktop.

Worry less about customizing (though you can comprehensive customize and create your own keyboard shortcuts that work across the OS, not just within an app).
I have this very flat mouse, and using multiple displays so didn't try trackpad at all. Thank you for the heads up, maybe I missed some ease of use there.

Reactions: GrenadeOconnor

casperes1996

macrumors 604
Jan 26, 2014
Horsens, Denmark
Generally, whenever you think "control", instead think "command". You've come a long way now...

cmd+q = quit. cmd+w = close window. cmd+n = new (window of whatever is relevant).