Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Raggsokk

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 19, 2012
I've been an android user for years, even though my primary phone right now is the iPhone 5. It started with a HTC Desire, which i swapped for a S2, and then a GS3 last year.

However, I fail to see how the software on such high-end devices ever attracted the general public whom, at least in the US, pay the same price (on contract) as they would for an iPhone.

Android wasn't as popular when I started out, previous to the s2. All I heard was that if I wanted to experience Android, I had to customize it to my own liking, a.k.a. rooting. I'm a tech guy, so I never had a problem with it, but I would never expect my gf to do it, or my less tech-interested friends, or.. well, my mom.

And they don't like Android at all. They HATE touchwiz, find the phones terribly slow compared to iPhones (updates are very late on older models in Norway), and they all wish they'd bitten the apple instead.

And I understand them. They call, they text, snapchat and what else. None of them uses the phone to its potential, not even close. They don't even care for widgets beyond downloading HD (weirdly incorrect) weather widgets from the play store. And the general consumer base will never put in the hours and effort required to begin rooting or advanced customization.

Thing is, suddenly everyone uses Android anyways. Tell me why?

vikingjunior

Cancelled
Aug 17, 2011
First off android is much cheaper. Android does everything a I phone does. People like bigger screens. People like choices like what keypad they can use. I think people are starting to realize that apple is no more then a advertising expert.

Raggsokk

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 19, 2012