Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

muzicman82

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 1, 2015
Hi all,

I'm looking for some advice from some of you. I do not have an iPhone but generally know my way around iOS. I'm an AV engineer and we've deployed a system were public users use an app to connect with a WiFi based system.

• First of all, it seems to me that iOS devices HATE connecting to WiFi networks that do not have Internet access. Several users have phones that keep reverting to a public WiFi signal that has Internet, even though it is a weaker signal. Is there a way to disable this? The network they have to connect to for this service does not have Internet, can't have Internet, and never will have Internet. I know you can tell a device to "forget network", but is that it?
  • Can someone recommend a free (and hopefully ad-free), simple, and clean app that can kill background processes or open apps so that an iPhone's memory is as clear as possible before starting the app we're using? On Android, Clean Master is a great one.
  • Also, what iPhone models have FM tuners built in? Do you need a 3rd party app or is there one in iOS?
Thanks all.

jabingla2810

macrumors 68020
Oct 15, 2008
1.iOS 9 introduced a new feature called “WiFi Assist, that reverts back to the mobile network when the Wifi is poor.

2.Killed background apps, and freeing up memory is completely unnecessary in iOS.

3.FM tuners are not in any iPhone models, and I can say with certainty, they never will be.

If you really are an AV Engineer working on an “App to connect with a WiFi based System”, you should read up on iOS and truly understand how it works, because currently you seem way off the mark.

And as a company you should pick technology that is in it’s infancy, and support that. Forget about trying to support FM tuners, it’s a waste of yours and your company’s energy.

IFRIT

macrumors 6502a
Oct 15, 2012