Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jesslouise

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 14, 2016
I'm looking at transitioning from a windows to a mac and have been doing a lot of research on which model would suit me best. I'm mainly investing in a mac for the video/photo editing programs and as a student I also have a limited budget. I want something that can easily run programs such as premiere pro and photoshop but won't cost thousands. I'm currently looking at the macbook pro with the 2.7GHz Processor, 128 GB Storage, and 8GB RAM, as it is the cheapest option and I would be able to use an external hard drive to hold all of my extra files, which would be significantly cheaper than paying for more internal storage. My current laptop is only 2GHz and has 4GB RAM so I feel like this would be a good upgrade. Is it worth paying more to upgrade my RAM or processor or would this model do me fine?

Last edited:

Samuelsan2001

macrumors 604
Oct 24, 2013
Well to be honest premiere pro and photoshop will use as much as you throw at them but if you are doing minor editing then iMovie or photos or pixelmator are free or cheap and may well do what you need.

If editing and rendering hour long 4K video from a dslr it may be a big issue, needing quad core processors or even a dGPU for best fastest results, if editing video and photos from your iPhone it'll be fine.

Again ram needs will depend on what you are doing with your programs and how many you have running at the same time.

Hellhammer

Moderator emeritus
Dec 10, 2008
Finland
Are you editing photos/videos professionally or is it merely a hobby? What sort of files are you editing? Like is it multi-source 4K video and +25MB RAW photos, or something much lighter? Any MBP can run Premiere Pro and Photoshop just fine, but your usage and files will determine which Mac is the most suitable.

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
May 3, 2009
128 GB Storage