Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

IceMacMac

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jun 6, 2010
I hate TimeMachine. Love it in theory, but hate it in practice.

My latest woe? I've got a brand new SSD boot drive. I'm backing up from my primary Data RAID to to a very new backup RAID. I killed my TM preferences and reformatted the backup volume.

It took a day to backup my 4 gigs of stuff...and already it's back to hellish performance....

It will stall for hours at a time. Spinning...Spinning....

Did I mention I ran disk utility and disk warrior on all my drives before my latest effort?

Anyone relate?

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
May 3, 2009
For me, TM blew through 200GB backup in a few hours. I have a Drobo mini hooked up via thunderbolt. I'm seeing great performance for Time Machine, thanks to the thunderbolt interface

sailmac

macrumors 6502
Jan 15, 2008
I've been using TM for several years without issue. Currently it's backing up a 1.2 TB RAID0 (bays 1+2) to a drive in bay 3. The SSD boot drive (located in the spare optical drive bay) is excluded from TM (as is a nightly clone in bay 4).

How are your RAIDs connected? Any other quirks apart from TM?

hfg

macrumors 68040
Dec 1, 2006
Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
I too have been using Time Machine for years with no issues ... and I have had no problems recovering files from it when needed, or restoring a complete backup to a new drive.

I currently use Time Machine to alternate backup to 3 separate drive-systems on the hourly time slots.

The source drives are a SSD/HD Fusion drive, a media hard drive, and a RAID-0 SSD on a PCIe card.

The destinations are internal RAID-0 hard disks for fast backup/restore ... followed by a eSATA attached RAID-5 external drive system ... followed by a Synology NAS system on the local network.

I also do a nightly CCC clone of the system boot disk to a partition on the eSATA RAID-5 system.