Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

hcho3

macrumors 68030
Original poster
May 13, 2010
Is it a bad idea?

I won't be doing any final cut pro or w/e.

I am using for work and grad school.

I will be doing

Heavy word processing.
Excel and powerpoint.

Heavy browsing, youtube and etc.

I won't be doing final cut pro or any serious video software other than iLife 2011.

Sometimes, I play SC 2 and Left for dead, but I am sure Macbook air 11.6 inch can run it with decent graphics and resolution.

I think I will be buying 1.6ghz/128GB/4GB Ram. I think.

Only thing that drvies me crazy is that it does have SD card slot and has 2 hours less battery life than 13.3 inch MBA, but O WELL. It's a lot more portable.

What do you all think? good or bad idea? Or should I get wait few more months and get 13-15 inch MBP?

macnerd123

macrumors regular
Nov 6, 2010
Pennsylvania
I am a high school student and have a macbook air as my primary computer. I have the 1.86 GHz with 4 GB RAM. I use iWork pretty much every day with safari, iChat, iTunes, and other applications running. It runs very smoothly for me so it should probably be a similar experience for you.

deadlystriker

macrumors regular
Jan 15, 2011
If it's gonna be your main machine, I would suggest getting the 13 inch. Get now if you want and need it now, otherwise hold off for the MBP update which is round the corner.

chrono1081

macrumors G3
Jan 26, 2008
Isla Nublar
If it's gonna be your main machine, I would suggest getting the 13 inch. Get now if you want and need it now, otherwise hold off for the MBP update which is round the corner.

The OP is talking about the MBA not the MBP.

OP you will have no problems with your air. They're great machines.

zodqyv

macrumors regular
Mar 28, 2010