Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

AbyssImpact

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Aug 6, 2010
I am a student and only do browsing and chatting on aim/msn. I also use facebook and occasionally watch youtube videos. I also watch movies and maybe buy some program like adobe photoshop cs5 to play with since the base model 13 inch can handle that...

Should I pay $200 for Applecare?

thejadedmonkey

macrumors G3
May 28, 2005
Pennsylvania
Things can randomly break, even if you never move your computer.

It's up to you, but if something does break and you want Apple to fix it instead of anyone else, Apple overcharges so much you'll probably cover the cost of the Applecare in the first repair.

Gr80Likes2Boogi

macrumors regular
Oct 3, 2009
NoHo, CA
It's not about using the computer to its full potential- it's about a logic board failure, a display hinge defect, a fan dying, a speaker blowing, an optical drive getting stuck.

Yes, it's worth it. Every single penny (imho, of course)

Last edited:

josh1231

macrumors regular
Feb 24, 2010
It's not about using the computer to its full potential- it's about dropping your computer, it's about a logic board failure, a display hinge defect, a fan dying, a speaker blowing, an optical drive getting stuck.

Yes, it's worth it. Every single penny (imho, of course)

I agree it's worth it, however I don't think it is covered if you dropped it, as it doesn't cover accidental damage.

gngan

macrumors 68000
Jan 1, 2009
MacWorld
I am a student and only do browsing and chatting on aim/msn. I also use facebook and occasionally watch youtube videos. I also watch movies and maybe buy some program like adobe photoshop cs5 to play with since the base model 13 inch can handle that...

Should I pay $200 for Applecare?

Do you even know what Applecare is? Chatting on aim/msn,facebook, youtube doesn't mean your macbook won't fail.

Kids these days don't have common sense.