Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

FearMediocrity

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 29, 2012
Hi,

I'm a currently a graphic designer looking to purchase a portable hard drive for my MBP. I'd like a portable hard drive that operates with a 3.0 USB port, and is formatted for easy use with Mac products, but also runs on PC computers too. I currently have a 2009 MBP, but would like to buy a portable hard drive that uses a 3.0 for future use when my MBP dies. I've looked around at LaCie, Western Digital, Seagate, Buffalo and Iomega. However, from what I can see, only LaCie and Buffalo offer portable hard drives for Macs within my 150-160 dollar price limit for a 3.0 USB 1TB portable drive. I've looked at the LaCie's Rikiki, Porsche Design and Rugged Models. I have also looked at Buffalo's MiniStation Models.

I was wondering if anyone had advice on reliable portable hard drive brands, or any other recommendations as to which portable hard drive I should purchase.

Thanks so much for your help!

revdlc

macrumors newbie
Sep 29, 2006
Washington State
One idea

It's hard to say much about reliability because I just got it, but for a portable Time Machine I bought a Go Flex 1.5 TB drive from Costco for $120 (including a $20 instant rebate), plus tax. It's a USB 2/3 drive... How you format it will determine its cross-platform usefulness; I used Disk Utility to format mine for a Mac, but there are alternatives.

Hi,

I'm a currently a graphic designer looking to purchase a portable hard drive for my MBP. I'd like a portable hard drive that operates with a 3.0 USB port, and is formatted for easy use with Mac products, but also runs on PC computers too. ...
I was wondering if anyone had advice on reliable portable hard drive brands, or any other recommendations as to which portable hard drive I should purchase.

Thanks so much for your help!

miles01110

macrumors Core
Jul 24, 2006