Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Stuntman06

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 19, 2011
Metro Vancouver, B.C, Canada
I use both iOS and Android devices. I've been using third party keyboards on Android for a couple of years now. SwiftKey is one of the keyboard I used on Android. When iOS 8 announced that they were allowing third party keyboards and that SwiftKey announced they will have an iOS version out, I was really excited. Tonight I installed iOS 8 on my iPad Mini and SwiftKey.

Boy was I disappointed. SwiftKey for iOS is a shadow of what it is on Android. I was looking forward to a number of features that wasn't present on iOS. First, I use an iPad Mini, so I want a keyboard layout that is split in the middle like what you can do with the standard iOS keyboard. The Android version has it, but not the iOS version. That pretty much sealed its fate for me. The non-split layout is not comfortable for me to type on an iPad Mini.

Other features that I have grown accustomed to on Android wasn't there in the iOS version either. On Android the keyboard shows symbols and numbers on the letter keys. If you long tap on the key, you get the symbol or number. The iOS version doesn't have it. Gesture typing (such as the Swype keyboard) where you drag your finger over the keys to type is also not on the iOS version.

The one feature that did make it to the iOS version is the cloud storage feature. It seemed to sync with my Android keyboard, so it knows my typing style and doesn't have to start from scratch to learn how I type. This feature is just not enough for me to keep using it because I simply cannot type on my iPad Mini without a split layout.