Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ChicoWeb

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Aug 16, 2004
California
Please Critique me :)

I do web design for a living and have finally gotten a camera so I can begin to make my own stock photography and give clients custom stock for their sites. This is the first weekend I've taken photographs with my new Nikon D50 w/ kit lens, which I purchased last weekend...

Any suggestions on a professional level would be much appreciated. I have no background in photography, nor do I know what I’m doing. I just tend to know what looks good and what doesn’t in the design realm. I'm trying to improve and my goal is to be able to produce professional stock photography myself for my own websites.

Thanks in advance!

All were saved down to 25% width and saved at 75% for web for bw reasons.

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

icloud

macrumors 6502
Feb 15, 2005
1. "Professional Level" is something I can't give you
2. I really like the colors you are capturing...they very crisp for the most part (what is your setting on the D50? Auto? Aperture Priority? Landscape? Manual?)
3. 3 4 6 are the ones i like
3 woudl be amazing if that fence were to say...dissapear
4. Like the lighting and the subject is quiet nice. Im a fan of simple shots and that one does a really nice job of it.
6 because i cant shoot people for the life of me. The colors are nice and the overall composition is nice...

First time with a SLR?

homerjward

macrumors 68030
May 11, 2004
fig tree
i really like 4 and 5.
those colors are really great.

did you have to use a tripod for #3?

i really need to get out and shoot more pictures with my d50...:eek:

dogbone

macrumors 68020
You're doing real fine. Having a good eye is what photography is all about. The rest of the stuff is monkey work.