Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jsmith823

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 29, 2014
I've been doing some research into the 2008 Mac Pros and I want a more recent opinion. I currently have a 2012 Macbook Pro 2.3 i7 with 10gb or ram and the gt650m 512mb card. I do a lot of video editing (I am a broadcast media student as well as a church media employee) and I was wondering if purchasing one of these older mac pros and upgrading the graphics card would be worth it. My MBP is EXTREMELY slow when editing in fcpx since apple updated the software to be gpu heavy. What I am wanting to do is get one of the eight core 2008 mac pros and drop two newer graphics cards into it.

1. Is this even possible? I know it can support newer cards, but will it supports cards like the new gtx 700 series or radeon hd 7000?

2. Will it be worth it? Are the quad core xeons any good in 2014? Will one quad core i7 be better than two quad core xeons?

Sorry about the questions guys! I've been a lurker for a while, but finally decided to ask the question.

Thanks!

NOTNlCE

macrumors 65816
Oct 11, 2013
Baltimore, MD
I've been doing some research into the 2008 Mac Pros and I want a more recent opinion. I currently have a 2012 Macbook Pro 2.3 i7 with 10gb or ram and the gt650m 512mb card. I do a lot of video editing (I am a broadcast media student as well as a church media employee) and I was wondering if purchasing one of these older mac pros and upgrading the graphics card would be worth it. My MBP is EXTREMELY slow when editing in fcpx since apple updated the software to be gpu heavy. What I am wanting to do is get one of the eight core 2008 mac pros and drop two newer graphics cards into it.

1. Is this even possible? I know it can support newer cards, but will it supports cards like the new gtx 700 series or radeon hd 7000?