Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Rikkitikkitavi

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 16, 2007
I am new to Mac and having difficulty changing names in Finder.

I know that I can select the file and go to "Get Info" and change the name under "Name and Extention". However with hundreds of photos, how can I change the name of multiple photos at once and just assign a different number after the identical name?

I ask because when I take digital photos, the camera assigns the same name to them: i.e., dsc_00007.jpg. When I try to download my pictures to a memory card for use in a digital frame, it will not download many of them because they have the same name and wants to replace it.

I need to rename them under "Finder" so that I can download ALL the pics without the system thinking that they are duplicates.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Mal

macrumors 603
Jan 6, 2002
Orlando
That, or you could just use iPhoto. It'll take care of that problem nicely. But yeah, if you insist on renaming them yourself, the app mentioned in the previous post should do the trick.

jW

GimmeSlack12

macrumors 603
Apr 29, 2005
San Francisco
You can easily do this in an Automator workflow built-in to OS X. Open Automator and do this:
Finder: Get Selected Finder Items
Finder: Rename Finder items

Save As: Finder Plug-In.

Ok, now go to the Finder and select all the files you want to rename, right click or control click and find your Workflow in the contextual menu. Its all pretty easy.

solvs

macrumors 603
Jun 25, 2002
LaLaLand, CA