Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MacRumors

macrumors bot
Original poster
Apr 12, 2001

After the keynote, we rushed over to the MacBook Air. We will be adding more photos to this post shortly. Brief impressions

- It is quite light and thin
- Multi-touch seems to work well
- Multi-touch acts differently in different apps. Testing in iPhoto, Finder, Safari. In Safari, three-finger swip caused you to go Back and Forward in browser.
- Mac OS X 10.5.1
- Two DIMM slots
- 1 USB, 1 micro-DVI, an headphone. In drop-down panel... but does not appear to "collapse"
- Bright Display, Glossy

Article Link

kkat69

macrumors 68020
Aug 30, 2007
Atlanta, Ga
Wow def looks good. Wife might want one.

It's to thin for me and what I do in my job. Seems more like a fad thing to have rather than a functional.

Business people on the go maybe, as a developer I can't use it :( Doesn't mean I wouldn't want one.

I say Good job Apple. For a first run at slim-line laptops it's def a step in the right direction.

PlaceofDis

macrumors Core
Jan 6, 2004
sounds like an overall great machine for those who need max portability, but not max power.

Shacklebolt

macrumors 6502a
Sep 2, 2004
Be sure to post overall final impressions, if you'd be so kind - there are a lot of underwhelmed MacRumors Users (again, not to be confused with MacRumorUser) right now, myself included. Plus - holy crap - the $1,300 price diff between the 80gig and the 64gig. Yikessss.

CWallace

macrumors G5
Aug 17, 2007
Seattle, WA
I like it, but I am glad Apple offers the MacBook and the MacBook Pro, as well. Choice is good.

And I look forward to the update to those latter two models as soon as Intel either starts shipping mobile Penryns or come May when the new Montevina CPU comes out.

iliketomac

macrumors member
Nov 22, 2006
As a first hands-on impression, is it worth $1799? (or less with either an education or gov't dscount)!

Dreamer2go