Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ryca

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 27, 2009
Hi Everyone

I’m an avid photographer so know Photoshop like the back of my hand, and have a workflow down pat for superb images.
I’m an avid music guy also, so know Logic & ProTools also and have those workflows down pat for great sound.
I’m just starting to dabble in film making/video editing and had a great workflow with my older Sony MiniDV camera (DCR-PC9) into iMovie08, but now have hit a hurdle which is frustrating me beyond belief!

I just purchased a Canon HF20 (yesterday) and discovered my workflow is pretty much useless as the format is AVCHD. (Using a Macbook Pro, 2.4Ghz Intel Duo, 3GB Ram, 160GB onboard, 500Gb External Lacie Firewire)

Now I’ve searched high & low in this and many other forums looking for an answer so please, no flames, just looking for an indication as to where & how to begin.

All I want to know is simply “How can I get the BEST possible footage out of the Camera?”

I realize that it’s too hard to directly edit AVCHD files so they need to be converted to something editable.
* Which is the best workflow for this to achieve the *best* possible converted video? iMovie? FCE “Log & Transfer..”?
* And once edited, what are correct settings for exporting the edited/final video?

I’ve seen some HD videos on Vimeo which look fantastic (even tho they are compressed for web) so I’m using those as a benchmark.
- I’m importing via iMovie HD.. then editing in iMovie 08 and exporting as a .mov -- is that the best I can do? The resulting footage from initial tests didn’t look great.

Any help / advice will be greatly appreciated.

Regards

grumbler

macrumors member
Feb 26, 2008
Hawaii.