Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mikejfrd

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jun 8, 2009
What are your opinions about Applecare??? What does it cover? I've always had insurance on all of my phones due to the type of work I do. I'm new to the iphone and ATT and apparently they don't offer insurance for the iphone. I pre-ordered the phone through ATT so when and how would I add Applecare??

nikhsub1

macrumors 68030
Jun 19, 2007
mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
What are your opinions about Applecare??? What does it cover? I've always had insurance on all of my phones due to the type of work I do. I'm new to the iphone and ATT and apparently they don't offer insurance for the iphone. I pre-ordered the phone through ATT so when and how would I add Applecare??
Apple care only extends the warranty from 1 year to 2 years... I dont bother cause i buy my phones with my Amex which covers accidental loss, damage, theft and it extends the mfgr warranty for an additional year. So, buy on amex = free and better than apple care.

jlovley

macrumors newbie
Apr 23, 2009
Apple care only extends the warranty from 1 year to 2 years... I dont bother cause i buy my phones with my Amex which covers accidental loss, damage, theft and it extends the mfgr warranty for an additional year. So, buy on amex = free and better than apple care.

so how does that work? i'm interested lol.

JayLenochiniMac

macrumors G5
Nov 7, 2007
New Sanfrakota
AmEx Extended Warranty (formerly Buyer's Assurance Plan) will mirror the manufacturer's original warranty for up to 1 year at the end of the original warranty (or extended warranty of 5 years or less). If your phone breaks in the 2nd year, you file a claim with AmEx and they'll either reimburse you the cost of the repair or the sales price (in which case you go ahead and purchase a new phone with your card).