Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

terakristen

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 23, 2010
Hi!

I'm Tera - I'm the Community Manager for Kik. We have developed Kik Messenger, a cross-platform messenger that is very similar to BBM. We didn't think it was fair that you had to have a BlackBerry in order to have a BBM style experience, so we took it to the iPhone.

You can check it out in the App Store here.

And there's also a short demo video on YouTube.

I would love to hear what iPhone users think about the app, as well as what you think about the marketing. Are you interested in the product? I'm new to this game and learning as I go. I'll be keeping an eye on this thread so please let me know if you have any questions or suggestions - I'm looking forward to hearing from you!

mzl.igrkxsiu.320x480-75.jpg

Reactions: shawn.garcia

swizmd

macrumors newbie
Jun 28, 2010
Excited!

I just switched to iPhone from Blackberry (3 days ago)

The thing I miss the most is BBM. I can not wait to get my BBM contacts to try Kik so that I can have the same utilization as BBM. Selfish, I know, but they will save money too!

Will let you know how it goes after I get them to install.

terakristen

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 23, 2010
Also excited :)

Yes - WhatsApp is a very similar messaging app. But, Kik Messenger is different in that you can send messages to any phone number in the US and Canada - the recipient is not required to have the app in order to receive your message.

Also, we are the first messaging app to have versions available for BlackBerry, iPhone and Android (which is in beta now) - so we are proud to be truly cross-platform.

I'm very interested in what iPhone users think about the application - and how it works for you. Especially from someone that has migrated from a BlackBerry and is very familiar with BBM. So, Team iPhone - what do you think??

ignign0kt

macrumors member