Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tomaki

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 9, 2010
Hello all.

I've been using a plain white Macbook for about 3 years now, and while I absolutely love all the details that OS X and mac hardware design offers, I'm a bit dissappointed about the hardware quality and durability. The thing is, this laptop of mine is totally crapping out after 3 years of use. Macs are hardly cheap and getting only three years out of a single machine priced like a mac is not very good deal imho. Because of this I'm really really iffy about shelling out money for a new mac laptop. Especially MBP's which cost considerably more. But on the other hand I really like most of the system because it's so well thought of and going back to a Windows or Linux machine just feels rather repulsive.

So my question is: Are Macbook Pro's more durable than these plastic Macbooks so I could rationalize speding big bucks? I wouldn't want to get a 2000 euro laptop that fails me after just a couple of years like this one.

PS. I've never even dropped my laptop nor I slam it when I put it on the desk. Despite this the bluetooth device disappears occationally, the machine crashes randomly and apparently the hard drive beeps and freezes the whole machine every now and then. Also one usb-port has died. I can't think of any other reason than either the HW is ****, or the plastic chassis isn't protective enough.

nefan65

macrumors 65816
Apr 15, 2009
Hello all.