Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

yourmn

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 28, 2010
United Kingdom
I don’t know why, but I’ve not been able to get Apps to update automatically in a long time.

I have everything turned on in settings, however I still have to go in and manually update each app.

Currently on iOS 11.2.6

Any ideas?

Attachments

• 2D2937BB-89F8-49EF-A2D8-215C95FB84CF.jpeg
    2D2937BB-89F8-49EF-A2D8-215C95FB84CF.jpeg
    646.2 KB · Views: 864

se99jmk

macrumors regular
Jun 11, 2012
I don’t know why, but I’ve not been able to get Apps to update automatically in a long time.

I have everything turned on in settings, however I still have to go in and manually update each app.

Currently on iOS 11.2.6

Any ideas?

I’m a Product Manager for an iOS app, and sometime recently we learned that apps can have a phased rollout.

If an app decides to use phased rollout, it becomes MANUALLY available immediately, but AUTOMATIC downloads are spread out over 7 days (in case any issues crop up, the automatic updating can be frozen)

Took me a long time to figure this out, and now I’m in the habit of checking daily for updates!!

Reactions: max2 and Shirasaki

donawalt

Contributor
Sep 10, 2015
I do not think automatic updates has worked properly for a long time, across the board. I posted here about it probably 4-6 months ago. Hopefully it is something Apple fixes in its new found focus on quality and bug fixing in the next iOS release (which I am totally in support of and think is way past due).

Reactions: max2 and ThrowerGB

lsutigerfan1976

macrumors 68030
Sep 14, 2012
Yeah mine haven’t automatically updated in a while. I just make it a habit to check the app stor every once in a while, and it shows me which apps need updating.

Reactions: max2

XT550

macrumors regular
Sep 30, 2014