Building boot caches” error when changing startup disk

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Kenc1103, Aug 6, 2011.

  1. Kenc1103 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Location:
    Fremont, CA
    #1
  2. apunkrockmonk macrumors 6502a

    apunkrockmonk

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #2
    Alright, open up text edit and create a new text document.

    In that document cut and paste the following:

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://
    www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
    	<key>Kernel</key>
    	<string>mach_kernel</string>
    	<key>Kernel Flags</key>
    	<string></string>
    </dict>
    </plist>
    Save the document as com.apple.Boot.plist, make sure not to append the .txt extension to the end.

    And the last step is select the go to folder command (Go > Go to folder) and cut and paste this in: /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/

    Move the file you created into the folder that opened, you will need to put in your administrator password.

    And that should be it!
     
  3. Kenc1103 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Location:
    Fremont, CA
    #3

    I followed the steps but still getting the same error message and won't let me select my startup disk. Please help me.
     
  4. Dae macrumors regular

    Dae

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    #4
    If you're still getting the error, ask me in comments by the link in your post.
     
  5. bonimac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #5
    this happens on my iMac (regular HD) from aug 2011 and MBP (vertex4 SSD) from okt. 2011.
    Both with os X Mountain Lion.
    Booting from other Mac in target mode, or simply from external drive with os X installed on gives me the same error as described here.

    On my MBP, rebooted in recovery partition, i even can't get back to normal boot.
    Alway's the same message.

    Only way around on iMac & MBP is to restart en hold the option button.
    Then i can choose the drive / partition / Mac in target mode to start from.
     

Share This Page