iPhone Forecast is dead…long live Weatherboard 2!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by eyoungren, Oct 19, 2015.

  1. eyoungren, Oct 19, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2015

    eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #1
    I have (with my old iOS 7.1.2 and 8.1 jailbreaks) been using Weatherboard. It lets you place the animated weather from the Weather app directly over your wallpaper on both the lockscreen and the homescreen (or either or).

    Weatherboard does what Forecast promised but did not deliver on in iOS 7 - namely live weather over your own wallpaper.

    Weatherboard 2, will do the same AND do what Forecast was doing by put a forecast on the lockscreen!

    Additionally, it will also be LockHTML friendly so you can still put other stuff in there on your lockscreen as well.

    So…Forecast is dead…long live Weatherboard 2!!!
     
  2. subzero123 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #2
    Yup can't wait for this release. Best tweak for the iPhone.

     
  3. subzero123 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #3
    And he even made an option to imitate forecast with temp at the bottom left of the screen
     
  4. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #4
    Nice!
     
  5. pdxmatts macrumors 65816

    pdxmatts

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  6. kalirob99 macrumors 68000

    kalirob99

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #6
    Nice been wanting weather to be displayed on my devices lockscreen again. Feels like last time was iOS 5.
     
  7. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #7
    LOL! Last time was iOS 8 for me - with Weatherboard.

    On iOS 7 and 6, I modified an iWidget for an HTC animated weather clock to just show the animated weather and had LockHTML put that on the lockscreen and iWidget to put it on the springboard.
     
  8. kalirob99 macrumors 68000

    kalirob99

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Oh man did I miss the weather. Didn't check it very often but knowing it was there was oddly comforting lol. Never used iWidget, pretty simple to set up?
     
  9. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #9
    Yes it is.

    Long press on the homescreen, select the iWidget you want, the options and then "Add". It appears on your homescreen and to move it you put the icons on the sprinboard into 'wiggle mode.' Put it wherever you want. You can add more than one to the same screen, either of the same or a different type.

    And LockHTML4 will let you put iWidgets on the lockscreen.

    iWidgets are all HTML/CSS/JS code. If you are comfortable with editing that kind of code you can use iFile to do that and create customized iWidgets.

    Right now though, iWidget does have a small bug. Once you place an iWidget nothing on your screen is pressable until you lock/unlock your phone. Once you do that you can move the widget and press to open apps again.
     
  10. jermy4 macrumors demi-god

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #10
    Can't wait to buy this tweak, I miss lockinfo which includes forecast functionality. For now I've got part of the functionality back by using perpetual9 but I miss having the animated wallpapers and lock screens and having weather available on the lock screen.
     
  11. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #11
    I'm using akvo with LockHTML4 for the moment on my lockscreen. It's not good enough for me to stay with, but it'll do for the moment. Still no animated weather though. I've done that in the past with a modified iWidget, but I just don't feel like going back and doing all that work again while I'm waiting for this.

    2015-10-23 07.54.43.png
     
  12. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #13
    With the Easy Time iWidget (and LockHTML for positioning).

    2015-11-06 12.55.09.png
     
  13. subzero123 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
  14. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #15
    How does the weather display over the wallpaper?

    Also it the weather shows that's it's day time, but the sun is down.
     
  15. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #16
    Does anyone know how this updates my location? How often?
     
  16. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #17
    Select the overlay to be your current location and for either the home or lock screen or both. Do not choose a specific overlay or it will never change.
     
  17. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #18
    It simply gets the weather from the Weather app. The Weather app is what actually gets your location/weather.
     
  18. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #19
    Select your current location for the overlay and set for the lock or home screen or both. Do not select a specific overlay as it will never change.
     
  19. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #20
    I'm traveling now and it's not changing my location.
     
  20. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #21
    Forecast always updated my location. This tweak isn't.
     
  21. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #22
    Then either it's your weather app or you have not set current location in both options.
    I was at work in Glendale today. It showed Glendale. I'm in Phoenix now. It's showing Phoenix. Never had an issue.

    image.png
     
  22. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #23

    When I open the options the only thing I select is use current location.
     
  23. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #24
    Select it here and here.

    image.png image.png
     
  24. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #25
    I had forecast set to 15 min refresh. Don't see that kind of setting.
     

Share This Page