Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TheRealAlex

macrumors 68030
Original poster
Sep 2, 2015
So Steve Jobs was a self admitted audiophile. I am still a novice but iPhone and before IPhone iPod, started and audio revolution in this country. A thousand songs in your pocket. And the ability to rip CDs at a high bit depth.
Today it’s all about “streaming” audio and Bluetooth. Which is ok.

But what about Audio quality ? Well since iPhone does not support aptXHD or LDAC at bitrates of 990kbps
IPhone is stuck with SBC at 345kbps

So I have to stay with Android Oreo 8.1 and 8.0 which support both aptXHD owned by Qualcomm so Apple will never embrace it. And LDAC owned by SONY which was included in Android Oreo 8.0.

Michael Goff

Suspended
Jul 5, 2012
If you care about audio, you’re not relying on Bluetooth. I mean, AAC is CD quality, so there’s that. And if you’re streaming over Spotify or anything like that, the LDAC will be wasted because it won’t be anywhere near that bitrate.

zhenya

macrumors 604
Jan 6, 2005
AAC is excellent over bluetooth, and bluetooth is primarily for convenience, not quality. You care enough about quality that you will stay with an outdated operating system, but then you have to use bluetooth?

Cancelled
Sep 11, 2014
Music on an Apple product has always been less than what it was on the competition, starting way back when my husband insisted on us having Zunes instead of iPods. I did give a listen and he was right, our music sounded better on the Zune. I still wanted an iPod, though. :cool:

Eh, it’s acceptable to most people most of the time, but yes, if you’re in the mood to really want to hear distinct instruments and all nuances of a vocal instead of everything mushed together, it’s a noticeably better experience using AptX headphones and an Android phone than an iPhone and the typical Beats or even the lightning earbuds.