iOS 12.1 Beta 5 ― Bug Fixes, Changes, and Improvements

Discussion in 'iOS 12' started by Banglazed, Oct 22, 2018.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. IowaLynn macrumors 65816

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #102
    It was so bad that I couldn't backup either. Same error. Also couldn't grab B5. To make matters worse couldn't sign into iCloud to verify me, my password.

    Wiped phone, could not for once restore from iCloud backup (day old).

    Happened with both iPhone X and iPad Pro.

    Total mess. Totally no love for Apple iCloud.
     
  2. gwhizkids macrumors 601

    gwhizkids

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    #103
    I hate to say it but when multiple iCloud services are not working on your phone AND another device at the same time, don’t assume it’s your devices. At the very least google it or post something here before going through the pain of wiping your devices.
     
  3. Knowlege Bomb macrumors 603

    Knowlege Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #104
    I've always been amazed at how quick people are to restore around here. I've never ONCE in my history of participating in betas, gone that route when I had an issue. That s*** takes forever even if you don't have 5,000+ tracks in your music library. If a reboot, hard reset and reset all settings fail I chalk it up as a beta bug that comes with the territory and I've always survived.
     
  4. IowaLynn macrumors 65816

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #105
    Other than when moving to new iDevice, I don't remember having restored either. Until yesterday. And been in every Apple Seed.

    And only once, very recent last month, a MacOS updated rendered MacBook 2015 unbootable, another first. QA @Apple seems on the down.

    My bank schedules system maintenance and downtime for weekend nights, Sat&Sun, IT loses a weekend. WHY couldn't iCloud have popped up with a "unable to connect, service is down" error message? That too hard? Seems even when caught off guard they could, and also gave a Plan B in place.
     
  5. Splandid macrumors member

    Splandid

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
  6. C DM macrumors Sandy Bridge

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #107
    And that is...?
     
  7. Splandid macrumors member

    Splandid

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #108
    After a undefined Time the top Speaker does work. Stereo function lost. Only hardreset/restart fix this.
    Mine is a iXS.
     
  8. WRXiceman macrumors 6502

    WRXiceman

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    England, UK
    #109
    Just installed the PB 5 in the hope that it would maybe resolve my camera/photos issue, but nope :(

    Gutted.
     
  9. christian.terra, Oct 24, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2018

    christian.terra macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    #110
    Since beta 4, my ability to search settings stops working. Anything is search in settings results in a blank screen. I've tried switching to English UK, then back to English US, but that only works temporarily.

    also, did anyone elses Verizon visual voicemail stop working? voicemail tab now only shows blank screen with "call voicemail" box in middle.
     
  10. iloveallgadgets macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    #111
    Is there WiFi Calling and VoLTE for Globe yet? If not, can you check for Smart?
     
  11. Grayburn macrumors 68000

    Grayburn

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Location:
    London, England
    #112
    Noticing a hit on battery performance with this beta.
     
  12. uandme72 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    #113
    Same here.
     
  13. calibru_2good_4u macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    #114
    What iPhone you have ?
     
  14. Brandonlowsk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    #115
    Which device are u using?
     
  15. gwhizkids macrumors 601

    gwhizkids

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    #116
    The voicemail thing seems to happen a lot with the various betas. Usually fixable by going in to your voicemail and entering the password. That has worked every time for me.
     
  16. sbailey4 macrumors 68040

    sbailey4

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #117
    The VVM is/has been a common issue from time to time not with just this beta. Typical fixes are to leave yourself a voicemail or turn on airplane mode and back off. Seems there were others I cannot recall but there are a few different fixes for that issue.
     
  17. Grayburn macrumors 68000

    Grayburn

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Location:
    London, England
    #118
    The X
     
  18. christian.terra macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    #119
    Thanks, I tried. called my voicemail, put in password, listened to messages, even updated my password and still no VVM.

    Tried the toggle airplane mode on/off, reset network settings. I don't use VVM much, so i'll see if the next beta/release fixes it.
     
  19. campyguy macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Location:
    Portland / Seattle
    #120
    Quoting my OP for reference. Another frustrating day with mobile calls...

    An example, called my mother today, about an hour ago. Yesterday, no issues. Around an hour ago, called her ATTWS flip from my VZW S Max direct from Favorites (pressed, not using Siri/Voice Control). No answer. Got the VM greeting: "Hi, this is Susan...".

    My mom isn't named Susan. I don't know anyone named Susan...

    I ended the call, called the landline of the B&B I sent her to (from my Max), said what I needed to then got her to power down/up the flip. Then I tried again - Max to flip - and it worked just like I'd expect. Called ATTWS and pulled a service ticket... :mad:
     
  20. Mac Rules macrumors 6502

    Mac Rules

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #121
    Just to further illustrate my point on the UI glitch in the bottom bar on apps such as WhatsApp and FB Messenger

    Fresh start of app
    5603CCDF-B614-431B-A1D2-FA743FEE3FD8.jpeg

    After swiping to a conversation and back
    1802F17A-19C4-4758-8BF8-A3931232277A.jpeg
     
  21. DeadKlau5 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    #122
    I have also a WhatsApp UI glitch. Maybe a bug in the latest WhatsApp version?
    [​IMG]
     
  22. Banglazed thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Banglazed

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    #123
    It's possible these are app-related issues. I don't experience it with FB Messenger though.
     
  23. Mac Rules macrumors 6502

    Mac Rules

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #124
    I thought it too but I did a full restore of beta 5 last night followed by iCloud backup and got the same results
     
  24. Banglazed thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Banglazed

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    #125
    Have you tried contacting the developer? They’re both owned by FB.
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page