Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Moritsuna

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 9, 2014
I am wanting to buy a macbook for normal computer use + gaming. I will not be creating any digital arts video or photography.

The games I play mostly are WoW and average steam games (Like the walking dead series)

The question I have is, is the Iris Pro good enough? I WOULD like to play the new Witcher 3 and dragon age, but I am perfectly fine with playing with low to medium settings as long as it's lag free. For me, No lag>The best graphics.

I am asking because I have no previous experience with iris graphics. Thanks.

(Also side note, was wondering how well the iris pro without the nvidia card but with a processor upgrade would fare?)

Last edited:

Moritsuna

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 9, 2014
How heavy is it? I was wondering if I just play WoW I could deal with the Iris pro.

pragmatous

macrumors 65816
May 23, 2012
Get the dedicated graphics card. Iris isn't designed to play games it was designed for facebook games and flash in mind. It's not a very good GPU for gaming.

How heavy is it? I was wondering if I just play WoW I could deal with the Iris pro.

Sifinity

macrumors 6502
Jun 11, 2014
Texas
LoL is playable on my mid 2012 13" intel 4000 cMB :cool: , im 99% sure its playable on a haswell iris pro

Moritsuna

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 9, 2014
So I heard it drains battery quick when gaming or other projects using the nvidia, but if I don't use it (work, internet surfing) will the battery last as long as the iris pro without the nvidia?

yjchua95

macrumors 604
Apr 23, 2011
GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
So I heard it drains battery quick when gaming or other projects using the nvidia, but if I don't use it (work, internet surfing) will the battery last as long as the iris pro without the nvidia?