Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 30, 2012, 04:47 PM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Apple Releases Redesigned iOS-Like Airport Utility 6.0 and an Airport Base Station Bug-Fix




Apple has released updates to its Wi-Fi base stations and to the Airport Utility program that controls them.

AirPort Utility 6.0 for Mac OS X Lion weighs in at 14.13MB and requires Mac OS X 10.7.2. The user interface has been redesigned to look more like the iOS Airport Utility application available through the App Store for the iPhone and iPad. It is also streamlined, with fewer windows required to access the full range of Airport Base Station settings.

AirPort Base Station and Time Capsule Firmware Update 7.6.1 was also released, and can be installed via Airport Utility on the Mac or iOS.
Quote:
This update is for all 802.11n AirPort Express, 802.11n AirPort Extreme and Time Capsule models. It fixes an issue with wireless performance and provides support for remote access to an AirPort disk or a Time Capsule hard drive with an iCloud account.
Apple also released AirPort Utility 5.6 for Mac OS X Lion, which retains the previous look of AirPort Utility and is required for configuring some older AirPort hardware.

Article Link: Apple Releases Redesigned iOS-Like Airport Utility 6.0 and an Airport Base Station Bug-Fix
MacRumors is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 04:48 PM   #2
smallnshort247
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Sweet!
__________________
http://www.apple.com
smallnshort247 is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 04:52 PM   #3
wickerman1893
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
I know almost everybody already knows this but just another hint that Apple is all about iOS now.
__________________
Check Out Ic3d Out Apps' New Stuff! Here is our website!
wickerman1893 is offline   16 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 04:53 PM   #4
hamis92
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Finland
I just keep wondering about how little Snow Leopard has received love from Apple lately. It might be just me, but didn't Apple use to support their second-latest OS far better than they do now? Not everyone wants to move to Lion.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" Early 2008 ● PowerBook G4 12" ● eMac ● Power Mac G5 + G4 + G3 ● iPhone 5 ● iPad
hamis92 is offline   9 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 04:54 PM   #5
applesith
macrumors 68000
 
applesith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
I wish they would include a nice interface like this for all airport related services and devices instead of those just using an Airport base station.
applesith is offline   7 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 04:56 PM   #6
Senseotech
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wilkesboro, NC
Send a message via Skype™ to Senseotech
Slightly annoying, but 6.0 can't configure my older Airport Express, making me download 5.6 solely to manage it.
Senseotech is offline   11 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 04:56 PM   #7
kirky29
macrumors 65816
 
kirky29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lincolnshire, England
Send a message via Yahoo to kirky29 Send a message via Skype™ to kirky29
Looks sweet, I like it a lot!
__________________
27" iMac, 15" MacBook Pro 2.2GHz i7 2011, iPhone 5 16GB - iPad 1/2/3/Mini - 24" Cinema Display,
Apple Magic Mouse, Trackpad, Time Machine, Apple TV,
| Check out my flickr |
kirky29 is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 04:56 PM   #8
Coltaine
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
I just installed the update.

Looks fine to me, but there was a configuration tool for printers in the old application, where did it go, I can't seem to find it anymore!?
Coltaine is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 04:56 PM   #9
Menge
macrumors 6502a
 
Menge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Brazil
More important: Does this fix a bug where Firmware version 7.6 would cause USB-connected disks to spin up every few minutes?

I installed 7.6 and went back to 7.5.2 because of this issue!
__________________
Menge - 2011 2.3GHz 13" MBP - 16GB iPhone 5 - 32GB iPad WiFi+4G - 8GB iPod Nano - AEBS
Menge is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 04:57 PM   #10
Snowcat001
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Whooohoooo!!
Snowcat001 is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 04:58 PM   #11
NutsNGum
macrumors 68030
 
NutsNGum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
OSX is becoming iOS in 3, 2 and so on and so-forth.
NutsNGum is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 04:58 PM   #12
Undecided
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Senseotech View Post
Slightly annoying, but 6.0 can't configure my older Airport Express, making me download 5.6 solely to manage it.
Really? Damn, that sucks. I already updated to 6.0 too. I'll have to test out the older Express later. It's disconnected and I just keep it around should I want to setup speakers outside or something.
Undecided is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 04:58 PM   #13
newagemac
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Ever since trying out the iOS version of Airport Utility I was hoping Apple would bring it to the Mac. It's really nice and intuitive. The last update I made to my router was just too easy on my iPhone. Looking forward to trying out the Mac version of it.
newagemac is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 05:00 PM   #14
swordfish5736
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belle View
Send a message via AIM to swordfish5736
now if only they could find a way so we dont have to restart every single time we want to apply one little change.
__________________
swordfish5736 is offline   16 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 05:01 PM   #15
Undecided
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by wickerman1893 View Post
I know almost everybody already knows this but just another hint that Apple is all about iOS now.
I generally feel that way, too, but I did note that iBooks Author is for Mac only.
Undecided is offline   7 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 05:05 PM   #16
sudoash
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
[..] and provides support for remote access to an AirPort disk or a Time Capsule hard drive with an iCloud account.
So does this mean that we can access our Time Capsule's hard disk elsewhere? For example, if I am at work, can I get data from my Time Capsule's hard disk simply by using my iCloud credentials? If so, how? There doesn't seem to be any documentation or instructions for this — or I'm helpless for looking.

Edit:
I really am helpless for looking. It's right here:

__________________
MacBook Pro with Retina - 2.3GHz, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD
iPhone 5 - 32GB

Last edited by sudoash; Jan 30, 2012 at 05:14 PM.
sudoash is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 05:08 PM   #17
Diode
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRIIM44 View Post
now if only they could find a way so we dont have to restart every single time we want to apply one little change.
Ha agree.
Diode is online now   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 05:09 PM   #18
Sweetmate
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
An so continues the total dumbing down of all products Apple.

Can no longer configure printers, can no longer see wireless and DHCP clients, lost IPv6, lost logs and stats, lost multicast rate, lost transmit power, lost wide channels, lost interference robustness etc etc etc

Gained: A Nice big Internet globe icon and a nice big Base Station icon.
Sweetmate is offline   62 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 05:09 PM   #19
Soverc
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Hmm no ability to edit ipv6 settings that I see, looks like other things may be gone but have not compared them yet.

The interface is butt ugly also. I could have done better in MS paint.
__________________
NOTE TO APPLE-- The END key should make the cursor goto the end of the line.
Soverc is offline   16 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 05:09 PM   #20
Cmd-the-World
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Seriously Apple do I need to wait in turn to update my devices?

Prior to the update I was able to update the firmware on all my devices simultaneously. Now I need to update them one by one. I am working on Mac OS X which is able to have full multitasking not iOS!!!!!

Apart from that it was convenient when I needed to set up a number of devices I was able to have multiple windows open so when one is restarting I was able to continue setting up the others. Now it isn't possible.
__________________
- Cmd-the-World
2013 15" rMBP 2010 Quad MP 2011 Mac Mini Thunderbolt Display iPad Mini 32GB iPhone 5
Cmd-the-World is offline   13 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 05:10 PM   #21
neiltc13
macrumors 68040
 
neiltc13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Apple just keeps coming up with reasons not to buy another Mac.
neiltc13 is offline   28 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 05:13 PM   #22
Stella
macrumors 603
 
Stella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cmd-the-World View Post
Seriously Apple do I need to wait in turn to update my devices?

Prior to the update I was able to update the firmware on all my devices simultaneously. Now I need to update them one by one. I am working on Mac OS X which is able to have full multitasking not iOS!!!!!

Apart from that it was convenient when I needed to set up a number of devices I was able to have multiple windows open so when one is restarting I was able to continue setting up the others. Now it isn't possible.
Tell me about it: I have 6 Airport Express / Time Capulses to update... now its a PITA, one at a time thanks to a crappy modal UI.

Hey Apple, we can multi-task.

Not being able to see DHCP clients , or even how many are connected is extremely weak.

Unfortunately this all points to the dumbing down of OS X applications.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hamis92 View Post
I just keep wondering about how little Snow Leopard has received love from Apple lately. It might be just me, but didn't Apple use to support their second-latest OS far better than they do now? Not everyone wants to move to Lion.
Apple never did support older OSes very well.
__________________
Hardware / Software: The right tools for the job - be it Apple or otherwise.

Last edited by Stella; Jan 30, 2012 at 05:19 PM.
Stella is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 05:14 PM   #23
4np
macrumors 6502a
 
4np's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Is it me, or is the logging option gone? In the previous version you were able to view the number of connected clients, a graph showing signal strength, logs and you were able to configure an external host to sent log information over snmp. The only thing which I can find at the moment is a summary of connected clients when you click on one of the airport devices, but the more advanced stuff seems to be gone? Has anybody been able to locate it?

Also, it seems it is not possible to create configuration profiles anymore?
4np is offline   20 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 05:16 PM   #24
Peace
macrumors P6
 
Peace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Space--The ONLY Frontier
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4np View Post
Is it me, or is the logging option gone? In the previous version you were able to view the number of connected clients, a graph showing signal strength, logs and you were able to configure an external host to sent log information to. The only thing which I can find at the moment is a summary of connected clients when you click on one of the airport devices, but the more advanced stuff seems to be gone? Has anybody been able to locate it?

Also, it seems it is not possible to create configuration profiles anymore?
The logging option IS gone and that ticks me off.
Peace is offline   15 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 05:19 PM   #25
Sweetmate
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
5.6 - http://support.apple.com/kb/DL1482

Does everything apart from the new Back to My Mac iCloud setting.

You can install 5.6 and 6.0 concurrently.

Set up Back to My Mac iCloud with 6.0, and then never use it again and stick with 5.6.

Problem solved.
Sweetmate is offline   10 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Tags
airport, firmware

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Releases AirPort Base Station and Time Capsule Firmware Update 7.6.4 MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 99 Aug 29, 2013 07:53 AM
AirPort Utility for Mac and iOS Updated with Bug Fix MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 19 Jul 15, 2013 04:36 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC