Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

brinary001

Suspended
Original poster
Sep 4, 2012
Midwest, USA
So I'm in the market for a new tv. I'm a twenty year-old college student with an apartment, and we do typical college student things with a tv: casual to more hardcore gaming depending on what time of year it is, some Netflix and movie watching, and that's really about it. Obviously I'm not going for a home theatre or anything here, just a good tv that's fun to watch and play things on.

My question is, what is a better option: a bigger 1080p tv for the cost of a smaller (but better picture) 4K tv? Because I've been looking at some 1080p's that are 60 and 65 inches that fit within my budget of $600-800, but a 4K in the same range is only 50 tops.

Is there enough UHD content out there or at least due out in the near future to justify the jump to UHD? Is the SD and normal HD upscaler really that good? Regardless of which tv you have or what you do with it, I'm interested in hearing from you guys.

dukebound85

macrumors Core
Jul 17, 2005
5045 feet above sea level
Neither the ps4 nor xbox1 can play games at 4k if that is a concern. I think that it is also diminishing returns as at a certain distance you can't tell the difference in resolution. However, if buying new I would get a 4k vs a 1080p set

punchwalk

macrumors regular
May 16, 2010
Maryland, USA
Get whatever set delivers the best balance of size, features and picture quality for your budget. Don't worry about 4K vs 1080p just yet; 4K content is still quite scarce, and I predict that it will be for the next couple of years. Heck, it's still hard to find 1080p content in some outlets (most network and cable TV channels still broadcast in 720p or 1080i).

ProjectManager101

Suspended
Jul 12, 2015