0 (zero) GB available

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Tomek, Aug 24, 2007.

1. Tomek macrumors newbie

G'day guys,

My mums friend is a total noob and managed to come back from holiday, and load all his movies and pictures on his computer and totally use up every drop of memeory he had. :rolleyes:

He has:
    iBook 12" inch screen G4 running 10.3.9
    Installation CD's
    No common sense to read pop up warnings about low memory

I have:
    G4 Tower running 10.3.9
    Installation CD's
    Ethernet
    11years Mac experiance (only 21yrs old)

Problem: He shut his computer down, starts it up, the screen goes blue and never loads the "enter password" screen.

Now all I want to be able to do is get in (some how) to get the pictures and movies off his computer and burnt to CD's. But first I need it to start up.

I have come up with a few idea of my own but no doubt they wont work. :D

Can I jump start his computer with mine like a car? Using my memory to run his.

Can I start his computer up on the installation CD's some how? To then shift stuff from his computer to mine.

I know I can re-install "everything" and he loses all his files. Which is bad and I wont do it.

I can also re-install only the OS. Which doesn't free up memory. :rolleyes:

I can also wave a magic wand and drop his iBook from a great hight and call him a noob for hours. Which I also wont do.

So if anyone has any clues for me to look into (search function is amazing on forums) then I can do that. Just give me some key words.

Thanks guys/girls/12yr olds with to much time.
    <3 :apple:

2. clevin macrumors G3

clevin

3. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

~Shard~

I believe all you should need to do is enter Safe Mode and go from there.

In general, to clean up space on a HDD I recommend the following:

- use OmniDiskSweeper (not free) or my personal favorite WhatSize (free) to determine what all is taking up room on your HDD and where it is