'06 MacBook and Cinema Display?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by VintageMac, Dec 3, 2013.

  1. VintageMac macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    #1
    My black MacBook 2.0 from 2006 is working fine except for the finicky cable between the computer and screen. I would like to add an external screen and am eyeing a 20" Cinema Display on Craigslist. The seller says it comes with a ADC/DVI power adapter.

    Will this monitor work seamlessly with my MacBook?
    What cables or cords should be included with the monitor?
    What cables, adapters, etc. will I need?

    Vintage
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    That display will work nicely with that Macbook. You'll need a mini-DVI to DVI adapter for the ADC-DVI adapter to plug into.
     
  3. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
  4. VintageMac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    #5
    Thanks, this is very helpful. Actually I do have one of those adapters from unsuccessfully trying to hook that MacBook to our TV. I suppose I'll need another cable of some sort since that adapter is only a few inches long.

    What should come with the monitor? I saw on eBay that some said "power brick" not included.

    Vintage
     
  5. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    The ADC-DVI adapter includes power for the screen as has a rather long DVI male cable so that it can easily plug into the short mini-DVI adapter. Just checking, but this is one of the clear acrylic Apple G4 era displays.
     
  6. VintageMac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
  7. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    That is so very worth it. Just for the adapter alone. They do indeed go for about $75-$85 on eBay. Although their price may start falling as Apple finally dropped support for those beautiful displays with 10.9.
     
  8. TyPod macrumors 68000

    TyPod

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    And Yourself?
    #9
    Thank you, my bad.
     
  9. VintageMac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
  10. VintageMac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    #11
    I picked up the display, cables and "power brick" this evening. Problem is that I can't get any sign of life out of it. Seller told me the the adapter was for connecting it to a PC, but I'm using everything he sent me. Am I hooking something up wrong?

    1. Power cord from receptacle and plugged into "brick".
    2. Cable attached to "brick" and other end (male) lugs into one of three cables coming out of adapter.
    3. Second of those three cables attaches to my apple-mini-dvi-to-dvi-adapter, which then plugs into my MacBook.
    4. Third of those three cables has a USB plug which I plugged into my MacBook. 5. Other end of the three cable contraption plugs into the cable coming from the back of the monitor.

    I did find the power button on the bottom of the screen. It only pushes in slightly. No significant click. Is that the way it should work?

    When I go to System Preferences (10.6.8.), click on "Displays" and then click on the "Detect Displays" button, nothing happens.

    Anything I am doing wrong or anything else I should be doing? Any suggestions for next steps or ways to test the various parts?

    This screen is larger than I was expecting. I just measured it now as I am writing and it is 22". I also just checked and see that this was the predecessor to the 20" and was sold 1999 and 2000. Is there a compatibility issue?

    Vintage

    As you can tell by my questions and my username, when it comes to computers I am a few pixels short of a full screen, so your help is greatly appreciated.
     
  11. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #12
    You have the rather rare-ish old DVI Studio Display? Or is it the ADC equipped model?
     
  12. VintageMac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    #13
    Pretty sure it is the ADC
    3 x 10 pins in one block and then four pins in a square with a horizontal tab in that square. Oval piece around them has a slight notch protruding in the middle of the top/bottom side.

    Vintage
     
  13. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #14
    This is the ADC cable:
    url.jpg

    This is the ADC-DVI adapter:
    appledvitoadcadapter1.jpg

    These are the things you have?

    The power button on ADC screens is a capacitive button that doesn't do anything when connected to a ADC-DVI adapter. Does the USB part of System Profiler show the screen or adapter connected to it?
     
  14. VintageMac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    #15
    Yes, that is the ADC cable.
    No, the ADC-DVI adapter is a much larger piece - 5.5" x 7" x 2".

    Thanks for your responses. My next response will be tomorrow.

    Vintage
     
  15. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #16
    Is this the power supply?
    661-2455.jpg

    If it is, you've got a Dr. Bott ADC-DVI adapter. Those are a bit more touchy than the official Apple ones.
     
  16. VintageMac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    #17
    Yes, that is my power supply! It has a "Dr. Bott" sticker on the end, but also a small Apple logo on top, as does your pic, and on the bottom it says "Apple 205W Power Adapter." What exactly do you mean by "touchy"?

    I'll try to attach a pic of the set-up.

    Vintage

    ----------

    Sorry, spent 45 minutes trying to attach pic, but can't figure out how to get it from being shown under Attach Files /Manage Attachments to actually appear in this post.

    Vintage
     
  17. VintageMac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
  18. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #19
    The power supply for those is actually a G4 Cube power supply. That's why there's an Apple logo on it. They're touchy because they're a simple physical adapter. Unlike the Apple ones that have a few extra chips in them, these tend to not work with newer Intell Macs as well. When you touch the display's power button when everything is hooked up, does it light up for a few seconds then fade out? Do you have another computer to test the screen with? The power supply may be failing or dead. They're reaching 13 years old and have started to show signs of age for Cube users.
     
  19. VintageMac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    #20
    No hint of any life when trying to turn on or at any other time.

    I don't have any other computer I could try, but am hoping a friend can stop by....

    Vintage
     
  20. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #21
    I'd suggest testing the power supply. Look up how to test a G4 Cube power supply. You could also try the hair dryer trick to see if it'll live again.
     
  21. VintageMac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    #22
    The hair dryer trick worked! I'm guessing this is a temporary fix right? Will it always need to be heated up in order to start?

    Thanks for your assistance!

    Vintage
     
  22. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #23
    It is a temporary fix. If I recall correctly it has to do with cold solder joints or a bad capacitor. You can fix it two ways: Get a new G4 Cube power supply or open the one you have and repair it. Just know that if you open that one, you may not be able to get it looking nice again once closed. They're not designed to be serviceable.
     
  23. VintageMac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
  24. VintageMac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    #25
    Not working. DVIator is currently in pieces on my table top. Does anyone have a circuit diagram or photo to identify these inside parts, especially capacitor.

    Vintage
     

Share This Page