08 Macbook Airport problems

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by mbleopard, Nov 29, 2008.

  1. mbleopard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    #1
    I got the new aluminum macbook and I love it, but I have been running into a slight problem.

    Every little bit my wireless disconnects and then reconnects a little bit later. I dont know if this a problem with the macbook itself or my wireless. I believe its airport because none of my other computers get disconnected from the internet.

    Is there anything I can do or just wait for a patch or something from Apple?

    Also is there anyway to disable the annoying message that doesnt allow you to log back onto iChat or Adium if the internet disconnects and reconnects too many times in a specified period of time?

    Thanks in advance for the help!
     
  2. DeusInvictus7 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    #2
    when that happens, does the airport symbol on the top right still say you have signal? because I have had this happen to me pretty often, but it will say that I'm still fully connected...I'm not sure if it is just my router, or the actual airport card, but it doesn't seem to happen to my sister (white macbook), and my cousin (last gen macbook pro), or the rest of the computers in the house, which is about 4 more...

    EDIT: however, when the airport is actually connected, I get the connectivity that I'm supposed to get, having a wireless N router, so really good speeds when it is actually working, but once it a while, it'll seem to just cut out, and I have to basically just wait until it decides to reconnect and start working again...
     
  3. mbleopard thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    #3
    Most of the time the airport symbol goes grey like Im not connected, but when the internet cuts out and the airport symbol is still black if I click on the airport symbol it sometimes shows my wireless router but i have to click on it to reconnect,
     
  4. VSMacOne macrumors 601

    VSMacOne

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #4
    That happens sometime to me but only at my office when I'm connected to the wireless and the high traffic combined with the weaker signal will cause that to happen...
    how strong is the signal?
     
  5. silverblack macrumors 68020

    silverblack

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    #5
    I believe there was a thread last week reporting problems with wifi at home, but only with the MB but not other computers. It wasn't an Apple router (yours isn't Apple either right).

    You can try to do a search. But I don't think there was any good solutions posted. There are so many things that could cause problem with wifi, depending on the specific setup/brand. It's hard for other to suggest solutions.

    A to-the-root solution would be to buy the airport extreme of course.
     
  6. vienta macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #6
    I had this problem FOREVER and replaced both my router and my modem trying to fix it with no luck. I even got a new computer during this time and that didn't make a difference. I finally figured out that it was the encryption, I had switched over the WAP2 around the time it started happening. I switched back to WEP (which isn't supposed to be as secure but I'd rather take the risk than have the frustration) - and now everything is working fine.
     
  7. Mako5 macrumors regular

    Mako5

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    #7
    This is also happening to me. I have 5-6 ThinkPads connected wirelessly plus another 2-3 pc's/devices connected via hardwire. Only my new Macbook drops the connection periodically even when I am only 5 ft away from the Access Point/Router. I am using DLink DI-524 and WPA. I also see the Mac "Scanning' all the time.
     
  8. mbleopard thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    #8
    Its usually sitting about 5-10 feet away from my wireless router so I have full signal

    Yea I have a 2Wire wireless router, so people who have the airport extreme dont have the same problems as people with other wireless routers? That seems kind of odd...
     
  9. VSMacOne macrumors 601

    VSMacOne

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #9
    I connect to an AP and it still does it, but not quite as often as yours...
     
  10. silverblack macrumors 68020

    silverblack

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    #10
    I used to have Linksys and Netgear routers, and I would have connection problem regularly. Then I got the AP extreme, and never have problems anymore.
     
  11. mbleopard thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    #11
    It sounds really weird and I'm not sure why but if I have my macbook close to my wireless router like now I have it within 3-5 ft of it then the wireless cuts in and out. But earlier I had my mb elsewhere in my house further away and the wireless never cut out during the 4 hours of use...like I said kind of weird
     
  12. Jisuo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #12
    I had the same big problems with Airport first time I used it (kept loosing connection, very slow, etc), but I found a silly little tip somewhere with google:

    I added another connection in Network in System Preferences, called it "Home" (could be anything), but let the original connection (called Airport) be the "primary" (top of the list).

    Problems stopped immediately. Not sure it did it, I'm just glad it's working perfectly now. Even better than on my older IBM laptop.

    Using a D-Link router.
     
  13. Solemony macrumors 6502

    Solemony

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Location:
    Wonderland
    #13
    Mine works like a charm so far... Did you try restarting your computer?
     
  14. mbleopard thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    #14
    Yea I have tried, I just moved the wireless router further away from where I normally have it and did that trick that Jisuo mentioned and it has been ok
     
  15. megamanbnmaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #15
    I would also like to mention if the router is a Wireless B/G router then it could also be interference. On my old Sony Vaio everytime when a 2.4 GhZ Cordless phone gets used, the internet disconnects. You see the network but you can't connect to it until the phone call gets hanged up. (Even if the computer was 2 feet away from the router and the phone was in a different room).

    We finally gave up and switched to 5.8 GhZ for Cordless phone, and it works fine with our router.
     

Share This Page