"09 iMac RAM Upgrade

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Altec Inc, May 6, 2011.

  1. Altec Inc, May 6, 2011
    Last edited: May 7, 2011

    Altec Inc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Location:
    Hirtshals, DENMARK
    #1
    I've currently got a 2009 2.66GHz C2D 20" iMac and I'm wanting to upgrade the RAM from 2x1GB to 2x2GB.
    I have a way of getting 2x2GB RAM modules from a 2011 MacBook Pro but I want to know if the RAM is compatible.
    The RAM from the MacBook is Hynix 2 x 2GB DDR3 1333mhz RAM.
    Will this work in a 2009 iMac?
    If it won't work what sort out RAM do I need?

    Thanks
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    2008 iMac uses DDR2 so unfortunately the RAM from your MBP is not compatible. E.g. this will work.
     
  3. Altec Inc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Location:
    Hirtshals, DENMARK
    #3
    Ok thanks for that.
    Will either of these work:
    Corsair 4GB (2GB x 2 Laptop) SO-DIMM RAM PC-5300 DDR2 667MHz
    OR
    Kingston 2x 2GB DDR2 800 PC6400 Desktop Memory Ram
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    The Corsair will since iMacs use laptop ram (SO-DIMMs) but it is slower than the one I linked.
     
  5. Altec Inc, May 7, 2011
    Last edited: May 7, 2011

    Altec Inc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Location:
    Hirtshals, DENMARK
    #5
    Well a quick search with my Serial No. on the Apple site has shown my iMac is in fact an early 2009 model, 9,1.
    The "About This Mac" shows my iMac currently has "2GB of 1067MHz DDR3".

    Does this allow me to use the "Hynix 2 x 2GB DDR3 1333mhz RAM" from the 2011 MBP?
    How much of a speed improvement will I see increasing the RAM?
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    In that case, you can use the RAM from your MBP since it is DDR3. The performance improvement depends on what you do but it should speed up pretty much everything. 4GB is the norm today.
     
  7. Altec Inc thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Location:
    Hirtshals, DENMARK
    #7
    Thanks heaps mate.
     

Share This Page