'09 quad... sleep doesn't sleep still?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by whyrichard, May 25, 2010.

  1. whyrichard macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #1
    Hello,

    My '09 mac pro hasn't been able to sleep quite right... i solved this with a bandaid fix by using a program called "please sleep".... kinda works alright, but has apple fixed this yet?


    thanks,

    r.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    There is usually a 3rd party app blocking the sleep. Try repairing permissions and reseting SMC and PRAM
     
  3. whyrichard thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #3
    i just tried all three, but it goes to sleep... then wakes up immedieatly.

    could it be something to do with the screens? (dell 21")

    thanks,

    r.
     
  4. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #4
    Put it to sleep in regular way (button or :apple: -> Sleep) and check system.log in Console right after it will wake up.
    Look for: "kernel[0]: System Sleep" and "kernel[0]: Wake reason ="
    Post what is Wake reason code or all records between "kernel[0]: System Sleep" and "kernel[0]: System Wake".
    This should give some light to your problem.
     
  5. tsmiller macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    #5
    I have the same problem. I think it's related to the Intel SSD's. "PleaseSleep" works great for me.
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    Some displays have that issue. Just use PleaseSleep, my iMac doesn't sleep either but I use it and it sleeps like a baby
     
  7. Loa macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #7
    Any reason to believe that? I've been using an Intel SSD for more than 6 months without any sleep problems at all.

    Loa
     
  8. tsmiller macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    #8
    I have 2 Intel SSD's setup as a software raid, and that seemed to be when my sleep problems started, also I noticed that the thread starter has 2 Intel SSD's.

    Tracy
     
  9. Loa macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #9
    Have you tried what 666sheep has suggested?

    Loa
     

Share This Page