1.0.1 Update service problems

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by drew0020, Aug 1, 2007.

  1. drew0020 macrumors 68000

    drew0020

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    #1
    My phone was perfect before the update. I updated last night and am getting no service messages during the day at work. I cannot seem to get service back. Unfortunately I cannot restore until I am home, but is that my only option? Very frustrating!
     
  2. fmcgirt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Location:
    Placitas,NM
    #2
    Mine was not perfect before the update as I had erratic reception from time to time but I had exactly the same No Service problem last night after the 1.0.1 update. I tried everything I could think of like rebooting, doing the update again, AirPlane Mode On and Off, etc., and nothing helped. I was afraid it was the SIM card so I put it in another phone and it worked fine. I finally left it and went to bed and this morning all was fine. I think that the problem was that AT&T had a problem activating the phone after the update for some reason. Very frustrating!

    Frank
     
  3. Virtualball macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    #3
    I have the EXACT same issue! Wow, I thought it was just me! :( I get the "AT&T needs to check activation sign, but I have no service so it can't check! Not cool, AT&T not cool...
     
  4. fmcgirt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Location:
    Placitas,NM
    #4
    Something in the update caused this and somehow slipped through the testing between AT&T and Apple. I never understand how something like this happens as there is nothing subtle about this one. I have the 4GB model and I wonder if it could be only happening to them since I have seen many reports of successful updates?

    Frank
     
  5. drew0020 thread starter macrumors 68000

    drew0020

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    #5
    I have the 4gb phone as well. How do I fix this? I need to be able to make/receive calls this evening.
     
  6. fmcgirt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Location:
    Placitas,NM
    #6
    I wish I could tell you for sure how to fix it. I actually did three firmware updates, the first two letting it restore the data from before and the third treating it as a new phone. I also reset after each update although I think that is the last thing in the update process anyway. Like I said I finally gave up and plugged it in to charge and went to bed and this morning got the "Activated...." message. Maybe I was just fortunate..

    Actually, I had an appt with the Genius Bar at the Apple Store this morning but cancelled it when all was OK. I still intend to report this on the Apple Feedback forum

    http://www.apple.com/feedback/iphone.html

    If I were you I would take it into the Apple Store and show them the problem and maybe ask them to try your SIM card in one of their phones. I think that they will be happy to replace your phone without any hassle. If you don't want to do that I would call AT&T customer care who probably won't know anything and pass you on to AppleCare who I hope will be able to help you. Sure sounds like the 4GB might have the problem and the 8GB may not. Now I am afraid to reset my phone again but at least the sync with iTunes works fine.

    Frank
     
  7. I3eXa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Location:
    IdaPIMP
    #7
    I should have read this before doing the update but so far so good. I have a 4gb version and everything seems to be workin fine. I have service and everything.
     
  8. fmcgirt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Location:
    Placitas,NM
    #8
    Guess that shoots down that theory, but glad you are OK. After having the erratic RF problems with my first two 8GB iphones (and to a lessor degree with this one) and now this I am beginning to have doubts about being able to depend on the iPhone for reliable phone use until several more versions get released. Too bad it is such a great device otherwise because then I could easily go back to my Nokia N95 which has great reception and so far has updated from Nokia just fine. Very frustrating when basic stuff doesn't work properly....

    Frank
     
  9. knelto macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #9
    I've got an 8gb model and I can make/receive calls just fine post-update. Haven't had a problem yet...
     
  10. Virtualball macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006

Share This Page