1.1.1 (unlocked) to 1.1.2 + O2 questions

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by dalvin200, Nov 23, 2007.

  1. dalvin200 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #1
    Right,

    Since being a father again, I've had less and less time to read up about upgrading firmware on my iPhone etc..

    Last night I must of spent a solid hour trying to find info on these forums, modmyifone etc.. but just got totally confused as to what to do or what instructions to follow..

    I have read that there are processes for upgrading to 1.1.2 and unlocking using oktoprep etc.. but weren't very clear..

    First, I have an unlocked US iPhone running 1.1.1 (via anySim 1.1 and the modmyifone instructions)

    Therefore, I pose 2 questions:

    Question 1
    Is there a trusted method (fully tested) or even GUI based solution (on mac) to upgrade to 1.1.2 and unlock it to use on other networks? I read that iDemocracy does this, but that's windows only.

    Question 2
    Also, currently, I am using T-Mobile UK (on any sim 20 monthly contract), but I want to switch over to O2 simplicity online 20 or 30.
    Will my 1.1.1 unlocked iPhone accept the O2 simplicity sim cards and work out of the box? (ie, just put the sim in and away I go.. no further hacking required).

    Many Thanks
     
  2. dalvin200 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #2
    someone please must be able to reply to my questions above..

    its been 3 days now.. lol..
     
  3. BuxtonUK macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #3
    I'd hazard a guess at why no-ones bothered replying, why would you willingly want to upgrade to 1.1.2 it doesn't introduce anything of any great significance, all it does it patch the tiff exploit and stop you from hacking it.

    Just leave it at 1.1.1 and go grab an o2 simplicity sim-card.

    Simple as.
     
  4. dalvin200 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #4
    So they do work then? No problems at all?

    Thanks
     
  5. SpookTheHamster macrumors 65816

    SpookTheHamster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Location:
    London
    #5
    If you ran anysim to unlock your phone you'll have to run the app again when you want to use another SIM.

    I don't see any reason to update to 1.1.2, it doesn't really add anything worthwhile for the possible danger.
     
  6. ensemble macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #6
    Hi,

    I'm getting a US Iphone with 1.1.1 firmware, according to the seller it has been SIM unlocked. I plan to get an Orange PAYG or monthly contract, since Orange is supposed to have the best EDGE coverage in the UK.

    However, I do have intentions of using a German PAYG SIM, e.g. T-mobile if I'm abroad.

    Does that mean I need to run anySIM app or what not to do so ?
     
  7. dalvin200 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #7
    yes, i used anysim 1.1..
    umm.. so when do i run the app? after the new sim is inserted? while the old one is inserted? without a sim inserted?

    thanks
     
  8. ensemble macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #8
    To those US Iphones with firmware 1.1.1 unlocked, if you wanna upgrade to 1.1.2:

    http://www.modmyifone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=18006
     

Share This Page