1.1.3/1.1.4 Update with 1602/1604 error // Solutions included

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by domness, Jan 15, 2008.

  1. domness macrumors 6502a

    domness

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #1
    Hi there everyone!

    I guess quite a few people are having a number of errors.. but one that hasn't really been talked about for the newest update is that I'm getting a 1602 error when trying to update the file normally and a 1604 error when trying to restore my iPhone!

    Someone on here had this and said they were speaking to apple on the phone?

    Anybody got any ideas or anything?

    I've tried restarting the computer, changing USB ports etc.


    Dominic.
     
  2. ClemTiger0408 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #2
    I'm experiencing the same issue. We should keep this active to see if anyone has any advice.
     
  3. Phatzer macrumors regular

    Phatzer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #3
    Mine returned an error after 1.1.3 update, restarted and came up with the iTunes logo. Plugged it in and tried restoring to original settings, but I get an error 6.

    Trying a few things now. The phone is not unlocked or jailbreaked, totally legit. I'm on the £35/month o2 contract in the UK.
     
  4. domness thread starter macrumors 6502a

    domness

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #4
    I'm the same.

    Not jailbroken, not unlocked, i'm on O2 UK £35/month.

    I've tried so much!!!

    EDIT - I'm even trying to redownload the software, firmware etc. I've done everything! (I now just need a second computer...)
     
  5. Phatzer macrumors regular

    Phatzer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #5
    OK I'm trying everything suggested by Apple's web site, if it works I'll let you know. If not, it's a call to Apple tomorrow!
     
  6. domness thread starter macrumors 6502a

    domness

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #6
    Okay, leave a reply on here if it works!!
     
  7. Phatzer macrumors regular

    Phatzer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #7
    Just a suggestion, I'm re-downloading the update again. If you have a good connection (unlike me) you might be able to find out before me if it works...

    Close itunes and disconnect iphone.

    Go to: C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Application Data\Apple Computer\iTunes\iPhone Software Updates\

    Drag any files (they will be hidden) in here to your desktop for the time (in case you need them)

    Start iTunes again, turn on iPhone (weep at the iTunes logo on the screen), plug it back in.

    This time, the restore process will throw up the 1.1.3 info screen and download it again.

    It might work this time, let's hope!
     
  8. domness thread starter macrumors 6502a

    domness

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #8
    Nope, just tried that :(

    And restarting the computer doesn't work either.
     
  9. Phatzer macrumors regular

    Phatzer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #9
    Hmm, the only other thing they suggest is making a new user account in Windows, logging in to that, and try restoring then.
     
  10. domness thread starter macrumors 6502a

    domness

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #10
    Already tried... :mad:
     
  11. PupnTaco macrumors regular

    PupnTaco

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    #11
    I was able to get past the "can't restore" by connecting directly to the USB (eliminating the dock) and restarting - but now it says "no wi-fi".

    I'm off to the Apple Store for a replacement.
     
  12. domness thread starter macrumors 6502a

    domness

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #12
    Apple really need some proper fixes for these 160x errors! They seem to just give a few things to do, but it never seems to work!
     
  13. Phatzer macrumors regular

    Phatzer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #13
    Well mine is an error (6) although it seems closely related. Again, I'll continue to mention that my phone is completely legitimate. Very disappointed, I hope this gets fixed pretty quickly.
     
  14. domness thread starter macrumors 6502a

    domness

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #14
    I'm going to see tomorrow if I can use someone elses computer to update it.. MAYBE that will work. But its a shame I can't just fix it with a simple restore or reinstall.

    I'll reply with any outcomes to help anyone if I do ever get it sorted out.
     
  15. Malakas07 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #15
    hmmm. just got home to update my firmware. Got the same 1602 error.

    Restarted and retried. No go. :(
    Rebooted and retried. No go. :(

    Totally legit iPhone. Never been Jailbroken.

    Also seems as if iTunes is having a real problem finding my phone as well. Put it in it's doc. iTunes takes forever to find it. Once it does iTunes displays " Syncing" but looking on my iPhone it shows no activity.
     
  16. gazzzmoly macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    #16
    i got this message first time round i unpluged the phone pluged it back in and then manually select the file by pressing down apple clicking update at the same time
     
  17. 1-1-1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #17
    I also got the error 6 and this did the trick to fix it thank you so much
     
  18. spe499 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #18
    I was receiving the 1604 on one computer and 1603 on another. After spending 2 hours trying to update the firmware and following all the apple support guides I had no luck. The only thing that worked was moving my iphone to another computer and upgrading the itunes to 7.6 . I don't know if it truly made a difference but I also restarted the Apple mobile service after I upgraded itunes. I truly believe this is a software related issue with itunes. I just hope with future upgrades they can work this "bug" out.
     
  19. PhaserFuzz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #19
    I'm getting this 1602 message too. I've tried EVERYTHING I know of. Any help???
     
  20. domness thread starter macrumors 6502a

    domness

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #20
    I'm going to call apple and see what they say.

    Or I may try my hardest to remove any existence of iTunes which seems impossible.

    EDIT - I think I've finally cracked it!! What I did was try to restore it a million times. Restarted my computer.. did a CHKDSK (but don't think any of this did anything). I then turned my iphone off and turned it on into Recovery mode! First time it didn't work.. but I clicked restore and chose the 1.1.3 file to restore with. Then finally the iPhone went to a blank screen with the turning/loading thing at the bottom and the recovery went through!
     
  21. Phatzer macrumors regular

    Phatzer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #21
    I took my dock, connector and phone to work, downloaded iTunes, connected, downloaded update. Took about 5mins, but it worked :D

    WOOOOO WIGGLY ICONS N STUFF!
     
  22. domness thread starter macrumors 6502a

    domness

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #22
    Haha, congrats mate! :D

    Guess we've both go it sorted now! Yeh, I love the wiggly icons too. It kinda reminds me of being drunk or on some other substance :p



    The only bad thing is when the next upgrade occurs, I reckon we both will have to do the same thing to update once again.

    I just made sure I backed everything up and did a hard reboot and then finally restored. Mine usually went into restore mode once I had tried to update or restore.. But starting it in Restore Mode myself seemed to do the trick!

    If anyone has any more problems we will still be here to answer them! :):apple:
     
  23. jbommelje macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #23
    that seems to be the trick. i couldn't figure out why i got these errors when i have an un-hacked phone. i updated itunes thinking that it would fix it, but it didnt. i then tried to update the phone on a different computer and it worked just fine after it restored. then i connected it back into my normal computer to get the back up.

    so everyone else with the problem, try to do it on a different computer.
     
  24. murf'n'surf macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    #24
    Been there, done that......still no shakey shakey icons!!!!:confused:

    Are you guys sure that Microsoft didn't buy out Apple??????????:mad:
     
  25. Malakas07 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #25
    I tried this last night. Worked perfectly but after the update my iMac froze up with the spinning beachball. Rebooted and all is well.
     

Share This Page