1.1.3 to 2.0?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Tim!, Jul 10, 2008.

  1. Tim! macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #1
    Hey everyone I got my iPod Touch a couple months ago and never got around to downloading the 1.1.4 firmware. Should I be fine to download the 2.0 firmware though? Can I just jump from 1.1.3 to 2.0 and be fine?
     
  2. The Killer Fuzz macrumors member

    The Killer Fuzz

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
  3. steezy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
  4. cottonwood macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #4
    What time is 2.0 going to be on iTunes?

    Does anyone know if 2.0 will be available at 12:01 a.m. or later in the day?
     
  5. JML42691 macrumors 68020

    JML42691

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #5
    You should be fine, but if you are really worried about it, download 1.1.4 right now, what harm is it going to do if you are not jailbroken?

    And I would guess that it will probably be released closer to 5AM PST to 8 AM PST figuring that 8AM EST (5AM PST) and 8AM PST are going to be the two big times that I would guess.
     
  6. Sirus2400 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    #6
    He would have to pay $20 to download 1.1.4, pointless if he can get the apps with 2.0
     
  7. aethelbert macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #7
    1.1.4 doesn't cost anything...
     
  8. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #8
    You do not need to pay to download 1.1.4, you only need to pay to "unlock" the extra apps.
     
  9. JML42691 macrumors 68020

    JML42691

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #9
    How do you know that he doesn't have the apps already, 1.1.3 was the release that included the apps. And I might assume that if he wants to get the 5 apps in the January release, then he might need to pay that $20, but that is only an assumption.
     
  10. Tim! thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #10
    Yeah I do have the apps there were included when they did the $20 (it was on it before purchase)
     
  11. aethelbert macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #11
    You'll for sure be able to go to 2,0 from 1,1,3. It completely erases everything to update the baseband, anyway. You could also update from 1,1,4, but it wouldn't make a difference.
     
  12. macfanboy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #12
    i dont think there is a baseband in ipod touch btw. well, why would there be?
     
  13. aethelbert macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #13
    Oh, wow. I'm dumb. No idea why I used that term. What I meant was that the core of the firmware is written differently so it wipes your entire device. It won't make a difference what firmware you're upgrading from.
     

Share This Page