1.4 or 1.6 C2D option missing in Online store

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Phil96, Jun 19, 2011.

  1. Phil96
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    #1
    I have made an observation after the online store was down a couple of hours ago. If you navigate to configuration page of the MacBook air on apples online store, you no longer have the option to select the 1.4 or 1.6 Core 2 Duo processors. Could this be a sign that apple is releasing a new model with a new processor soon?

    I am sorry if I am mistaken, I am awaiting the new MacBook air with great anticipation.

    http://store.apple.com/us/configure/MC503LL/A?mco=MTk0MjIwNjU
     
  2. reclusive46
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    reclusive46

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    That seems to indicate that they've ran out of the upgraded processor?
     
  3. Oppressed
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Oppressed

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    #3
  4. Phil96
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    #4
  5. Phil96
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    #5
    Interestingly, the 2 or 4 gigs of RAM option still remains. Could this indicate that the new air will have the same RAM configurations?
     
  6. forcetactic
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #6
    They don't let you upgrade the processor on the base models I believe
     
  7. Abstract
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #7
    Yes, you can still upgrade the processor. You've never been able to upgrade the CPU on the base models of either MBA, while the 4 GB RAM upgrade has always been available on both models.


    And this thread got me all excited. :(
     
  8. skitzogreg
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    skitzogreg

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #8
    All upgrade options are available. There is a slight 1-3 day delay for some components, but not all.
     
  9. MBABuyer
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    VA
    #9
    Weird, the option to upgrade the processor from 1.86 to 2.13 is gone, but they say the option is still there.

    Mistake by apple in the picture below, you can see them offering up gradable processor, but that no longer exists.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. skitzogreg
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    skitzogreg

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #10
    The option is not gone. I don't know where you all are getting this information. I just took a screenshot of the upgrade to 2.13 on the 13".

    [​IMG]
     
  11. PraisiX-windows
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    #11
    Seriously guys..

    Only the 128 gb 11" and the 256 gb 13" have ever had the ability to upgrade the processor.. And you just made me all excited :(
     
  12. Phil96
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    #12
    skitzogreg, I don't understand how you can get a different screen than me. Are you using the U.S store? Because this is what I am getting on both models:
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Phil96, Jun 20, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2011

    Phil96
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    #13
    Ok I see where I am wrong now. Thank you for replying, I guess I was blinded by my anticipation. I wasn't aware that the base models couldn't be upgraded. Sorry for any inconvenience.
     
  14. PraisiX-windows
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    #14
    It was stated SEVERAL times.
     
  15. PraisiX-windows
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    #15
    I mean, it would have been a nice observation, but this just created excitement, and then it was CRUSHED again :(
     

Share This Page