1.66 Mac Mini run Leopard?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by PDACPA, Aug 26, 2008.

  1. PDACPA macrumors regular

    PDACPA

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #1
    Can the 1.66 intel Mac Mini run Leopard?

    Thanks
     
  2. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
  3. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #3
    Any system built within the last 5 years (except G3s) can run Leopard.

    TEG
     
  4. aaquib macrumors 65816

    aaquib

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  5. andrewag macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    RAM RAM RAM.

    I've installed Leopard on 30 or so eMac's (G4 1.25GHz, 1GB RAM) and it runs without problems - that meaning no one has complained about them being too slow anyway).

    Luck!
     
  6. synth17 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    #6
    I own a 1.66 Mac Mini and it runs Leopard great. You need to max out the ram to get good performance, I have 2GB of ram. When I first got it would run slow with 516MB. But after the ram upgrade it flies compared to my old Powermac G5 dual 2.3Ghz with 3GB of ram. I couldn't believe at first. And it is not power hungry like my G5.
     
  7. PDACPA thread starter macrumors regular

    PDACPA

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    Yeah, the one i picked up only has 512. Can you use third party memory or do you have to get ones from Apple? Ebay was where I was going to look.

    Someone on another board complained it was slow, and I am guessing he did not bump the ram.
     
  8. zmttoxics macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #8
    I hardly believe a 1.66 mini beats a dual 2.3 g5. My DC 2.0 G5 benches around 100 with Xbench and my 2.16 macbook gets 110. Practically neck and neck.

    Your g5 must have issues then.
     
  9. Schtumple macrumors 601

    Schtumple

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    benkadams.com
    #9
    General requirements

    Mac computer with an Intel, PowerPC G5, or PowerPC G4 (867MHz or faster) processor
    512MB of memory
    DVD drive for installation
    9GB of available disk space

    Took me 20 seconds to find that...

    Obviously if you have the base specs it isn't going to run as fast as Mac Pro, however if you have mid range specs, you should be ok.

    EDIT: I will agree with everyone else you should upgrade the ram, get 1GB, you can use any brand of ram, just make sure you get the right speed, check in the System Profile to see what speed your is, then go and purchase some, I would suggest Crucial.com, I swear by them. They also have a dedicated mac section too.
     
  10. PDACPA thread starter macrumors regular

    PDACPA

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #10
    Thanks Schtumple. I knew the requirements, but many times those are like bare minimum as put out by the manufacturer and wanted to know what the reality was as far as others experiences.

    Glad to hear crucial works. Going to check out the mac section.
     
  11. max¥¥ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
  12. Boss250 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    #12
    I actually hacked/pushed leopard onto a single 800mhz G4 with 1gb ram, and its suprisingly smooth for internet, dvds, and iTunes, things like that. Just not at the same time :). Its my first mac and I'm already impressed I just cant wait for steve to just tell me what's going on with the Mini!:mad:
     

Share This Page