1 big partition or separate for OS / data?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by spidey3, Jul 1, 2010.

  1. spidey3 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #1
    I have a Mac Pro 1,1 (2007) with the Apple RAID Card and 3 500GB drives in RAID 5. This leaves a total of about 1TB space, which [for historical reasons] is split into two 500GB partitions - one with the OS and home directories, the other with project data.

    I just received an additional 500GB drive matching the 3 already present, which I intend to add to the array -- bringing the total space available to 1.5 TB. Since I need to backup and restore the filesystem to expand the array, this is the perfect opportunity to revisit my partitioning scheme.

    The problem with the current scheme is that I often find myself in the situation where I am working on a project, and one partition is full, but the other has plenty of space - so I end up wasting a lot of time moving files from partition to partition to get things done. So no matter what, I know that I want to combine the home directories and project data on one large partition.

    The question is should I have:
    1) A separate small partition for the OS and a large one for everything else?
    2) One giant partition for everything?

    I can see advantages to each -- but what do you out there think?

    Spidey!!!
     
  2. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #2
    That RAID card won't expand the array without rebuilding the filesystems? That's reminiscent of 1999. So much for being current, Apple.

    As for layout, performance won't matter as all disks are being used for all filesystems. Do what makes it easier for you.
     
  3. spidey3 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #3
    I am pretty sure that I can add the new disk to the raidset -- not sure if it will allow me to grow the existing partition. There seems not to be much info about this online.

    I plan to experiment tonight after the backup is complete.

    Spidey!!!
     
  4. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #4
    It should allow for Online Expansion (addition of disk/s to an exising array without data loss).
     
  5. spidey3 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #5
    I'm confused. Are you saying that:
    1) You have actually done this successfully
    2) You believe it works but haven't done it yourself
    3) It doesn't work now but it should

    Spidey!!!
     
  6. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #6
    It should do it, but as I haven't done it myself with that particular model (though I have with LSI's products, who actually make it), took that into consideration when I posted.

    Any hardware RAID controller is designed to be capable of Online expansion, but there's the possibility that it's not functioning properly.

    But I have done it successfully with products from Areca, ATTO, LSI, Adaptec, and AMCC/3Ware for years. I've tried with other brands here and there, but not consistently (usually had notable issues of some kind that made me to not use that company).
     

Share This Page