1 Leopard on 2 comps?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by daveman235, Dec 23, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. daveman235 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #1
    Hi guys. I just bought a macbookpro, which came with leopard. I was wondering if anyone knows if i can use that leopard disc, that came with it, on my macbook running tiger. This way I have both comps running the same OS.

    I know its illegal and i dont need to hear that repeated times....lets skip the legalities of the topic and answer the simple question of, " Will it work?"


    Thanks guys for your help! :D
     
  2. srichart1 macrumors member

    srichart1

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
  3. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    Not necessarily, if you are talking about using the restore discs that came with your MBP, then they will not work - the machine must be the same model number as the one the discs came with.

    If you got an upgrade disc, then yes, it should work.
     
  4. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #4
    1. It will NOT work.

    2. Don't ask for advice about illegal activities. It is one thing to be ignorant, It is another thing to purposely break the law and ask for help doing it.


    I will report this thread to moderators.
    I am sure this thread will be closed shortly.
     
  5. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #5
    no it wont as long as no how to's are given. it is ok to talk about the theory of it as i have learned
     
  6. daveman235 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #6
    i believe its an update disc that came with the comp..... the restore discs are seperate....


    it says mac os x leopard and then underneath it, it says CPU drop in DVD


    Let me know what you think...


    Of course this is all theory
     
  7. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #7
    why dont you try it and just see?

    nothing llike testing theories with tests haha
     
  8. daveman235 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #8
    i'm thinking about it. i just dont have an extra hard drive to back everything up
     
  9. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #9
    drop in disks probably would work, but as you know it is illegal.
     
  10. Kashchei macrumors 65816

    Kashchei

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Meat Space
    #10
    If you have a regular or family pack, it should work. If you have an upgrade disk, it will only work for a specific machine.
     
  11. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #11
    Well, then lets talk about the forum rules then.....
     
  12. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #12
    It may work, it may not. If you feel the need to violate the EULA and try to get it working, please do not post a guide here. :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page