1 week old 5k iMac DumpGPURestart

Discussion in 'iMac' started by apple-ette, Nov 14, 2016.

  1. apple-ette macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    #1
    I got a new 5k iMac (late 2015 27" iMac 3.3GHz 8GB (will add more), 2TB fushion, M395) just over a week ago. I was rather dismayed therefore that while I was using it the screen froze. I could move my mouse, but it could not do anything. I decided to wait it out (ended up being almost an hour in total). Sometimes the mouse pointer would disappear, sometimes it would be huge, and it stopped moving. The time also stopped changing on the clock. I left it for a while, when I came back the screen was black. Moving the mouse did nothing. I pressed the power button and it would seem it had probably been sleeping I couldn't wake it (since mouse / keyboard wasn't reacting). I forced a reboot. It seems to be okay now. I called Applecare and they just got me to delete some caches, etc. I didn't think of it until yesterday to look in the logs (the crash was two days previous). In the log during that time were several entries like this:

    13:02:58.487271 -0500 DumpGPURestart com.apple.message.domain: com.apple.crashreporter.writereport.gpuRestart
    com.apple.message.signature: Kernel
    com.apple.message.signature2: UNBUNDLED ||| kernel ((null))
    com.apple.message.signature3: UNKNOWN
    com.apple.message.result: noop
    com.apple.message.summarize: YES

    At the time of freeze I was attempting to switch applications via the dock. Certainly nothing intensive. I had been using Aperture to import some images (sorry I just can't like Photos app). So I realize there is a chance that (unsupported) Aperture might be to blame. I'm just concerned that it might be a hardware thing and I want to figure that out before my 15 days are up. Is there something I can do to check it out or should I just try Apple again?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    I'd say keep using the iMac and see if the computer crashes again, but I'd avoid using Aperture just because it may be the cause.

    Are you on Sierra? Could be a bug in the OS as well
     
  3. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #3
    In all honesty it sounds like a GPU issue, especially with what symptoms you mentioned. As maflynn suggested, it's always worth updating the OS if you haven't already, or try to isolate if there's a specific app that's causing the problem. But definitely get a booking at an Apple Store for them to run some graphics tests.

    Almost every Mac since 2008 with a dGPU has had some form of graphics repair program or high failure rate. I've seen more and more 5Ks failing as of late. I suspect it'll be a similar story.
     
  4. apple-ette thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    #4
    Yes I'm on Sierra (with latest updates). I've been using Photos etc (and stopped using Aperture) and it hasn't misbehaved again.

    I called AppleCare last night. They said since I hear the chime when I start the iMac there is nothing wrong with the hardware. Hmmmm. The only suggestion they gave was that I reinstall the OS (which I have). I'm wondering if I should try something like Furmark to test / stress the gpu.
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    I've read two things, first Sierra has some video drivers that have given people headaches, but also that Aperture does have issues with Sierra.

    I recommend checking out Lightroom, or Capture One, there's other photo management apps, Lightroom is the industry leader, but its on a subscription based model, which I don't like. I'm trying out Capture One and that appears to be the most Aperture like and its highly customizable interface allows you to change it the way you want it to work.

    C1 has a trial (as does LR), so I recommend downloading and trying it out
     
  6. FireArse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    #6
    My view - save yourself the hassle and take it back from the point of purchase. There have been waaaaay too many GPU issues over the years and its one hassle you don't want to get involved in, especially if its a week old and you're within your rights to get a brand new replacement.

    Apple won't give you any issue if you bought from them direct.
     

Share This Page