10.1 Beta to 10.1 Public Release

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by StoneCold X, Oct 24, 2016.

  1. StoneCold X macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    #1
    Is there a way to go from the 10.1 Beta to the Public Release?
     
  2. DeutscheMark macrumors regular

    DeutscheMark

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Location:
    Nuremberg, Germany
    #2
    No need for that.
    If you're on 14B72c (on a 7/7+) or on 14B72 (on all other devices) you already have the final version.
     
  3. StoneCold X thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    #3
    So Public Beta 5 is same as today's release?
     
  4. lineto macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    #4
    Fwiw I was on the most recent dev beta and got prompted to update to the public release.
     
  5. TechnicallyTee macrumors 65816

    TechnicallyTee

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Location:
    Atlanta
  6. DaveOP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    Did you remove the profile? I am not getting prompted, because our last Dev build is the same as release.
     
  7. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #7
    Public beta 5 is the same as final, but those on public beta see an update for 10.1. Not sure why.
     
  8. thyttel macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    #8
    I'm on public beta and I didn't get a notice to update. And when I check it says up to date
     
  9. Blaster13 macrumors 6502

    Blaster13

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    #9
    I'm on Dev build and got promoted to update
     

    Attached Files:

  10. alfon_sico macrumors member

    alfon_sico

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    #10
    I guess that last public update collect in one OTA every betas updates or every system

    Mine 5S OTA 10.1 iOS update was 1.69GB of file to download

    Maybe is a way to reduce error with many acumulative update

    It was the same with 10.0.1 public release
     
  11. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
  12. lineto macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    #12
    Nope. Had the profile installed and still was prompted. Only removed the profile after updating to halt future betas for the time being.
     
  13. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #13
    Perhaps you were on beta 4 or something like that?
     
  14. alfon_sico macrumors member

    alfon_sico

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    #14
    It's not the first time it happens. Sure it will happen again next time, a kind of refresh of full updates
     
  15. thyttel macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    #15
    Nope. Beta 5. Latest beta
     
  16. d5aqoëp macrumors 6502a

    d5aqoëp

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    #16
    This is wrong. Build numbers are same but IPSW filesizes are different.

    You need to download the huge delta update. Else download the correct IPSW from somwhere you trust and update through iTunes by pressing Shift + clicking Update
     
  17. alfon_sico macrumors member

    alfon_sico

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    #17
    iPad Air 1 10.0.2 needs 124MB of downloaded iOS update up to 10.1

    No beta program in it

    Strange
     
  18. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #18
    Delta update. Seems fairly normal.
     
  19. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #19
    I honestly cannot remember. Is it usually for .0->.1 updates to be delta and not full installer? I didn't even get the Set Up Screen. Again, nothing surprises me anymore. 2016 has been the weirdest year for updates.
     
  20. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #20
    It's been different for different updates and even different devices over the last few iOS versions. Sometimes people get welcome screens, other times they don't, sometimes they get delta updates, sometimes they don't. It's certainly has been somewhat more out there with iOS 10 and iOS 9 in some sense, but it was also happening with iOS 8 to some degree as well as I recall from some threads.
     
  21. thadoggfather macrumors 604

    thadoggfather

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #21
    I'm on beta 2, saw an update available, check and it says I'm on latest version of iOS 10.1?

    the build# is totally verified beta2, and I removed beta profile too,

    oh well at least beta 2 is working out well. hearing some spotty things about b4/b5 which is supposedly same thing as 10.1 GM?

    Confusing release indeed, apple is getting good at adding to confusion unnecessarily :D
     
  22. hr10 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #22
    I was on Beta 4
    Removed profile and it said I am up to date
    Had to force restar my iphone and got the 10.1 update notification in setting
     
  23. bjet767 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    #23
    Battery drain after using location services in beta 14B72 is very high. Suspect the GPS service does not go fully into idle.

    Downloading latest beta update now (I'm a developer).
     
  24. chuckm1020 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    #24
    My iPhone 7 plus and iPad Pro were on the latest beta. My iPhone didn't prompt me to update. So that is normal. But my iPad Pro promoted me to update. Ran the update. So weird. Updated itself to the same build number that it already was. Both devices still have the profile installed also. I wonder why...
     
  25. bjet767 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    #25
    Chuck

    Both of my devices prompted me for updates and yes the build remained 14B72.

    Hmmmm

    On developer web site the build number dated today is 14B72 | 14B72c


     

Share This Page