10.10.3 Public Beta (14D105g) broke FaceTime cellular calls for me

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by barnaby117, Mar 16, 2015.

  1. barnaby117 macrumors member

    barnaby117

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    #1
    Looks like this was a bug for some people in prior editions as well, but I have it after updating to the latest public beta this afternoon. I get this error message, even when correctly signed into the same account in FaceTime and iCloud:

    FaceTime and iCloud must be signed in to the same Apple ID to use iPhone Cellular Calls.
     
  2. comics addict macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    #2
    Do you have by any chance your third-party e-mail address that you use for your Apple ID in addition to your @icloud.com address? 'Cause that is the reason I have encountered the problem your describing every single time. Try logging out and logging back in using the e-mail address as it appears on Settings>Messages>Apple ID on your iPhone and then try again.
     
  3. AllergyDoc macrumors 65816

    AllergyDoc

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Location:
    Utah, USA
    #3
    Broke cellular phone calls and Look Up, two features I use a lot. I rolled back to the last beta from my Carbon Copy backup and all is good.
     
  4. ecschwarz macrumors 6502a

    ecschwarz

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #4
    It broke for me, too - I have 2-step verification turned on, which required a separate iMessage/FaceTime password...I think that might be playing a role with the error on two different Macs.
     
  5. risk235 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #5
    I was just about to post a new thread until I saw this. Everything else like handoff and messages sync fine with my iPhone. I keep getting the error about signing in with the same Apple ID to use cellular calls. Is there a way to revert to a previous stable beta.
     
  6. kjm18 macrumors 6502

    kjm18

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Location:
    Prudhoe, UK
    #6
    Isn't working either on latest developer beta either, have submitted a bug report to apple
     
  7. randomgeeza macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7
    Same, same... A few people are suffering this. I spent a day trying to get it all working. There is a way...

    Create a Test user account, log into that. Log in to FaceTime and iCloud with your usual credentials... Go back to your original Admin account and it should then be working. However... Be aware that it doubles up the Devices listing in iOS 8, Messages settings... So then you spend time going back and resetting your password to refresh that list. The problem then re-occurs... And you have a perpetual cycle.

    TBH, I went back to 10.10.2 and all is working again.
     
  8. Jhonnyssd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    #8
    Same here.... So frustrated. Any words on when are they going to fix this?
     
  9. daijholt macrumors 6502a

    daijholt

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #9
    Broke mine too. Submitted a report to Apple, I suggest everyone else does the same. It'll get fixed much sooner that way.
     
  10. n-evo macrumors 65816

    n-evo

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #10
    Makes me wonder why you're using beta software.
     
  11. davethorp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Location:
    Preston, Lancashire, UK
    #11
    Same issue happening here on my late 2013 rMBP. My late 2013 iMac is fine though.

    Trashing com.apple.ids.service.com.apple.private.alloy.icloudpairing.plist from my library preferences on the rMBP fixed it temporarily but the problem came back a few hours later

    I've reported the issue in feedback assistant
     
  12. slenpree macrumors 6502a

    slenpree

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    I have exactly the same problem. also on 10.10.3 beta
     
  13. merlino165 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Location:
    Trieste - Italy
    #13
    I had the same issue

    I usually log in with Apple Id using a gmai address

    I logged out from all accounts and logged in again with icloud address

    this solved the issue for me
     
  14. risk235 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #14
    Just tried that. Didn't worked...
     
  15. sunny2k1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2013
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #15
    Apple fixed the issue with the new Public Beta (Build 14d113c). iPhone was back signed in the FaceTime iPhone Cellular settings.
     
  16. DougTheImpaler macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    #16
    Mine still isn't. iPhone 5s Verizon, MP4,1. I have signed out of iCloud on both devices and signed back in, same results.
     
  17. AllergyDoc macrumors 65816

    AllergyDoc

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Location:
    Utah, USA
    #17
    Mine is not fixed. Won't let me check "iPhone Cellular Calls" on my Mac. Gives me the line about iCloud and FaceTime have to be signed into the same account, and they are. Rolled back two betas ago from a backup and everything works fine again.

    Look Up disabling my keyboard and giving me a blank box was fixed, though.
     
  18. sunny2k1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2013
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #18
    Mmh, here on my late 2011 MacBook Pro everything is back to normal. Call are accepted and no more issue regarding iCloud.

    Using it with an iPhone 5s on iOS 8.2...
     
  19. AllergyDoc macrumors 65816

    AllergyDoc

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Location:
    Utah, USA
    #19
    I'm on a 6+ running latest 8.3 beta and late-2013 13" rMBP. Not a biggy for me as I rolled back to the first public beta, where everything worked fine.
     
  20. Fjuarez macrumors newbie

    Fjuarez

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    #20
    Does the latest ios beta fixes this problem with FaceTime? I read it does but i'm not sure, Does anyone know? :apple:
     
  21. risk235 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #21
    I applied the latest update yesterday. It still wouldn't let me use cellular calls. Today I get home and now it works. I didn't do anything. iPhone cellular calls was automatically checked.
     
  22. davethorp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Location:
    Preston, Lancashire, UK
    #22
    Latest update fixed the issue on rMBP. But broke it on my iMac
     
  23. bripab007 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    #23
    To add to the chorus, mine had been working fine but stopped working with the latest beta build yesterday :mad:
     
  24. barnaby117 thread starter macrumors member

    barnaby117

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    #24
    Still broken for me on the latest public beta build.
     
  25. sunny2k1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2013
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #25
    it might been an issue, that your Mac does not trust your iPhone. After resetting up the trust relationship, everything worked fine for me...
     

Share This Page