10.10.3 update and flashing folder w question mark issue

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by You are the One, Apr 9, 2015.

  1. You are the One macrumors 6502a

    You are the One

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Location:
    In the present
    #1
    Updating my MBP 15", 2.2 i7 8 GB (2011) with 10.10.3 and at reboot i got the flashing folder with question mark.

    Option->Power booted and got the firmware dialogue. Entered the firmware PW and it booted up to userlogin.

    Logged in and the installation continued.

    Just saying, in case anyone else have the same experience.
     
  2. You are the One thread starter macrumors 6502a

    You are the One

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Location:
    In the present
    #2
    Somehow, for me, this problem is connected to having a firmware password.

    If I turn the firmware password off, it boots albeit taking longer time for the initial boot sequence before the login many shows.

    When I turn the firmware password on again, I get the flashing folder with question mark.

    Any ideas?
     
  3. cruiser76 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    #3
    You should choose start-up disk manually from the settings after the system is up. Next restart , problem will be solved.
     
  4. You are the One thread starter macrumors 6502a

    You are the One

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Location:
    In the present
    #4
    Many thanks <3
     
  5. TheMacAvenger macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Location:
    The Deep South
    #5
    Yep - same issue here

    ...of course, it didn't occur to me that it might have to do with the firmware password, so instead I wasted a lot of time booting my MBA from a USB 3.0 flash drive with TechTool Protogo on it and fooling around with all sorts of tests and permissions repairs and other nonsense. Should've gone looking for this thread first! :D
     
  6. Luba, Apr 20, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2015

    Luba macrumors 6502a

    Luba

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #6
    Was this an installation bug, or intentional that you have to enter the firmware password to complete the installation?

    Must be a bug, because it didn't happen to my other Mac.
     

Share This Page