10.10.5 update glitch

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by macuser1232, Aug 13, 2015.

  1. macuser1232, Aug 13, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2015

    macuser1232 macrumors 6502a

    macuser1232

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #1
    So I just updated my Early 2011 MacBook Pro to from the last Yosemite build to the latest 10.10.5 and a strange glitch happened. My Mac shut down all of my applications like normal and restarted. The installation begin and then restarted upon completion. Then, a white screen with a large blank loading bar appeared. A few second later it restarts again with the loading bar. It continued to do this in an endless cycle until I force shut down and turned the machine back on. Upon powering up, it proceeded to complete the installation and started up normally. I've checked on "About my Mac" and I've confirmed it's on 10.10.5. I just thought that was a bit strange. Anyone else had this happen to them or have any idea what it was?

    UPDATE: According to someone on reddit, it actually fully borked their 2010 iMac and they are now having to reinstall from recovery partition.
     
  2. TomH TX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #2
    That would be scary. Glad you got through it.
     
  3. macuser1232 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macuser1232

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #3
    It was scary. I'm glad too. I hadn't made a backup in some days so it could've been bad..
     
  4. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #4
    The really scary part is you had not made a backup for some days and still decided to install a major update.
    Fail!
     
  5. macuser1232 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macuser1232

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #5
    Yup. I accept blame for that one. It was only a few years ago that I actually got an external hard drive and made backups. I haven't quite made it a daily routine on this machine, but I think I'll have it connected as long as it's stationary on a table.
     
  6. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #6
    It doesn't need to be daily, it depends on how many changes you make, files edited etc and how much you are willing to risk losing. But making a backup prior to any major software update is fairly prudent.
     
  7. macuser1232 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macuser1232

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #7
    Certainly.
     
  8. TonyK macrumors 6502a

    TonyK

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #8
    I have 2 backup systems. One is via TimeMacine and the other is through ChronoSync. CS is done weekly and TM is done by its schedule.
     

Share This Page