10.10.5 update issue

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by idntknw, Aug 15, 2015.

  1. idntknw, Aug 15, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2015

    idntknw macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    #1
    I have a 2012 Mac Mini with a SSD as the boot drive and HDD with the Home directory on it.

    When I try to update it to 10.10.5 thru the app store and reboot I get the circle with the line thru it. I have a CCC backup on an external drive and was able to get everything back up and running from the backup.

    I tried installing the with combo update but after installation and reboot I get the same circle with the line thru it.

    Any ideas whats going on and what the easiest fix would be without losing any data?

    Thanks

    Edit: And I also tried to run Diskwarrior while booted from the external backup and was able to rebuild the SSD but but when I tried to run it on the HHD it gave an error that the drive was still in use.
     
  2. Taz Mangus, Aug 15, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2015

    Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #2
    Boot holding down the Option-key and select your boot hard drive. If that works, go under System Preferences->Startup Disk and make sure that your boot hard drive is selected.

    EDIT: As I think about this more you could also having a failing hard drive.

    The reason why Disk Warrior is reporting that that hard drive is in use is because it is. Think of your backup hard drive as your primary drive drive where your home directory is still be used on the non-SSD drive. In other words, using the backup still requires the user accounts to be mounted from the non-SSD drive, hence the drive becomes used and unavailable to Disk Warrior.
     
  3. idntknw thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    #3
    Thanks for the reply.

    I assume you mean to install the update again, and if I get the error as before try your suggestion?

    Thanks

    Edit: I did have the original HDD drive fail a couple of months ago and replaced it.

    And for whatever its worth according to DriveDX the SSD is at 100% health and lifetime left indicator is 97%.
     
  4. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #4
    What I meant was try rebooting the computer while holding down the Option-key. You should see a screen showing all the bootable drives and partitions. Select your primary boot drive.

    EDIT: If you want to use Disk Warrior to repair the hard drive with your user accounts, you will have to either boot from the Disk Warrior boot disk or create another bootable hard drive that is a self contained OS X install.
     
  5. idntknw thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    #5
    Everything is working fine since I cloned from the backup. So try again with the update and if I get the error then try your suggestion?

    Sorry for being slow and not following.

    Edit: Ok I think I understand what your saying about Disk warrior now.
     
  6. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #6
    Try using the combo update: https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1832?locale=en_US
     
  7. idntknw thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    #7
    Yeah after trying thru the app store I tried updating with the combo and still got the error.
     
  8. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #8
    Something just occurred to me, are you using an older version of Trim Enabler? If yes, you should disable it before doing an OS update since it modifies kext.
     
  9. idntknw, Aug 15, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2015

    idntknw thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    #9
    I was using chameleon, turned it off, then when the update came out I use the built in Trim Enabler. Is there a way to confirm if everything is working correctly with the built in Trim Enabler?

    Edit: Under system info TRIM support is "yes" for the SSD.
    Funny you mentioned that. I have had a couple of times when booting I get the circle with the line errors and if I recall it started when I did the turning off of chameleon and using the built in TRIM support.

    You think I could try and disabling TRIM and trying to update?

    Thanks
     
  10. CoastalOR, Aug 15, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2015

    CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #10
    Did you Disable Trim Enabler before using the built in trimforce in 10.10.4? If not, the kext could still be modified. You may need to run the Trim Enabler to see what it shows, then Disable, and then reboot.

    Here are the instructions on trim force (includes how to verify it is active):
    trimforce
    Enable TRIM using the terminal command: sudo trimforce enable
    No need to touch kext signing. Only run the terminal command, accept the terms, confirm you want to continue, and then reboot.

    To check that Trim has been enabled check:
    About This Mac
    System Report…
    Hardware
    SATA/SATA Express
    TRIM Support: Yes

    To Disable:
    sudo trimforce disable

    EDIT: Your edit occurred while I was typing my post, so I didn't see it. I have not used the chameleon app. Maybe someone has some ideas, but we might be on to something.

    Here is a link to cindori the makers of Trim Enabler (used to be free, but has been replaced by Disk Sensei). The page also shows the symbol you are seeing and how they recommended recovery:
    https://www.cindori.org/trim-enabler-and-yosemite/
     
  11. idntknw thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    #11
    I just disabled Trimforce and rebooted and got the error again. I'm cloning from a backup to get things up and going again.

    Yeah I think we might be.
     
  12. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #12
    Check out:
    Here is a link to cindori the makers of Trim Enabler (used to be free, but has been replaced by Disk Sensei). The page also shows the symbol you are seeing and how they recommended recovery:
    https://www.cindori.org/trim-enabler-and-yosemite/
     
  13. idntknw, Aug 15, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2015

    idntknw thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    #13
    I followed the instructions and get this.

    Then it says wait 5-10 mins but it never does anything.

    I also tried to reinstall the os and it will not allow me. Says the os is newer on the drive than what it wants to install.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. idntknw thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    #14
    I downloaded Chameleon again, turned on TRIM then turned it off. Then I enabled Trimforce then disabled it and was able to apply the 10.10.5 update.

    Can I turn Trimforce on again? Will it have these issues when updating with it enabled?

    Thanks
     
  15. CoastalOR, Aug 15, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2015

    CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #15
    I was just typing a response when your update came in. Yes you can re-enable trimforce. You should not have the problem again. If you do, you now know what to do. I think the problem was probably the Chameleon disabling trim.

    I'm glad you found a solution. :)

    EDIT: Do not use Chameleon to enable Trim, use the Apple trimforce.
     
  16. idntknw thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    #16
    Yes it does seem that's what it was.

    Thank you again.
     
  17. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #17
    Do not use Chameleon to enable Trim, use the Apple trimforce.
     
  18. idntknw thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    #18
    Yeah, I got rid of Chameleon and enabled trimforce and everything seems to be ok now.

    Thanks again I appreciate it.
     
  19. gsahli macrumors 6502a

    gsahli

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #19
    Just another data point -
    I also have 2012 mini with SSD for startup. Previously got rid of Chameleon. Updated to 10.10.5 and got the same circle with diagonal on restart. I used my bootable 10.10 installer SD card to reinstall. (it kept all apps and prefs in place). Then used the COMBO 10.10.5 to update. No problem this time on restart.
     

Share This Page