10.11 on 2012 Mac Pro (5,1): worth it?

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by Caesar_091, Jan 20, 2016.

  1. Caesar_091 macrumors regular

    Caesar_091

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Italy
    #1
    Hello,

    I've a Mid 2012 Mac Pro (5,1) with 2 x 3,46 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, 24GB of RAM, ATI Radeon HD 5870 1024MB running OS x 10.10.5... what features I'm going to miss (compared to new Macs) if I upgrade to OS X 10.11 El Capitan?

    TIA
     
  2. Riwam macrumors 6502a

    Riwam

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Location:
    Basel, Switzerland
    #2
    :rolleyes:Why do you think you will be missing "features".
    Since you Mac has neither native USB 3 nor Thunderbolt nor other things. but can hold 4 instead of 1 internal hard drive, using it cannot be identical to using any other Mac including the MacPro late 2013 but also MacBook Pros, iMacs, you name it.
    However your computer can be upgraded to El Capitan according to Apple without need of any special tool or custom modification.
    Since you can have 4 internal hard drives (and of course external drives as well), why not just install it in one of them and see by yourself if you like it or not. ;)
    It's your machine, therefore only your experience counts for you.
    Ed
     
  3. Caesar_091 thread starter macrumors regular

    Caesar_091

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Italy
    #3
    Men you're just not getting the point or maybe you're just trolling in the wrong thread... I mean OS X 10.11 specific features like "Handoff and Instant Hotspot" which I think are not going to work on my configuration.
     
  4. Riwam macrumors 6502a

    Riwam

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Location:
    Basel, Switzerland
    #4
    *****
    I never troll in ANY thread and the one not getting the point is YOU. :confused:
    Simply install El Capitan in any drive and see by yourself what works and what doesn't.
    It's free, it's easy and avoids asking people stupid questions you can, must and should answer by yourself. :rolleyes:
    Reasonable people ask what they cannot know by themselves or things that would risk causing them (possibly) many troubles by trying them by themselves without previously being warned by others... instead of asking just for the sake of asking...as you do. :mad:
    Ed
     
  5. Caesar_091 thread starter macrumors regular

    Caesar_091

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Italy
    #5
    Well just stop answering, you're definitely not interested in this topic so shut up and thanks.
    I've no time to spend with you, troll.
     
  6. Riwam macrumors 6502a

    Riwam

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Location:
    Basel, Switzerland
    #6
    *****
    If Albert Einstein would see what an a****le dares to use his picture he would turn around in his grave. :rolleyes:
    "Brutus" would no doubt fit your bad and violent temper much better than "Caesar". :mad:
    You are a sad exception in the whole MacRumors forum, a place of pleasant, polite and helpful people, thanks God. :D
    Ed
     
  7. -BigMac- Suspended

    -BigMac-

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #7
    OP I used to have your Mac Pro (5,1).
    As far as i know, you should not be 'missing' any features.

    I do not believe handoff in particular uses any special technology to work.

    Infact i have successfully gotten handoff to work on a hackintosh of mine running yosemite. So even if for some reason a feature or two is not supported out of the box, you shouldnt have too much trouble to try and get it up and running through some tinkering in the OS, if that particular feature is one you sorely want;)

    If that fails, you can always revert to your other 3 harddrives :)
     
  8. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #8
    I have a decked out 2010 and I've been holding out. I also have an R9 280X to GPU power is ok but my system is too stable to upgrade now. I do not expect there to be any performance benefit, only a hit. If that is worth it to you for those features, go for it. I would stay away from it.
     
  9. ibarnett macrumors regular

    ibarnett

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    #9
    I have a 2010 5,1 & have done the USB3 & Bluetooth upgrades, Handoff & other "new" features work well.
    Do a search on this site for the upgrades.
    I purchased from here: http://www.macvidcards.com/store/p33/Wifi_AC_and_Bluetooth_Airport_Card.html
     
  10. Caesar_091 thread starter macrumors regular

    Caesar_091

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Italy
    #10
    Thank you all for your replies guys; I have too many work-in-progress projects to upgrade my system now but I'll keeping reading the suggested threads/links to figure out any other issue I might come across.

    ...the next big thing will be a 4-5K compatible video card (and monitor of course!) to let my MP beeing even better than some other newer configs.

    @Riwam: there is a whole world waiting for you out there; try to get out and have a beer with some real people, but really stop boring me in here.... and forget about Brutus, Caesar, Einstein and God because they all have one thing in common: they have nothing to do with this place (to mee its an obvious attempt to avoid slipping but BTW: P&L or RIP, its up to you man).
     
  11. Riwam macrumors 6502a

    Riwam

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Location:
    Basel, Switzerland
    #11
    *******
    Grazie per il consiglio mio caro, baci e saluti.
    Sei unico (grazie a Dio):D
     
  12. TonyK macrumors 6502a

    TonyK

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #12
    I've got a MacPro 3,1 (2008) and adding USB3 is a good way to keep things more current. MacVidCards currently have no WiFi/Bluetooth cards so I would sign up for their Twitter feed as directed on their page.
     

Share This Page